OBiTALK Community

Region Specific Technical / Service Provider Support => North America - Including Google Voice, Skype, etc. => Topic started by: RichE on September 04, 2015, 08:59:38 am



Title: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: RichE on September 04, 2015, 08:59:38 am
Is there any way I can set up nomorobo.com to block robocalls with my obihai 110 and google voice?

Do I just add the nomorobo number to the phones google voice rings?

Thanks,

Rich


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: azrobert on September 04, 2015, 09:28:51 am
Do I just add the nomorobo number to the phones google voice rings?
No. It would work if you could add your NoMoRobo number as a forwarding number, but GV requires you to verify the number and there is no way to do that with your NoMoRobo number.

Is your NoMoRobo number tollfree (800)? Is SP2 on your OBi110 free or defined as SIP? You can setup NoMoRobo if the answer is yes to the previous questions.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: BigJim_McD on September 04, 2015, 11:26:14 am
Do I just add the nomorobo number to the phones google voice rings?
No. It would work if you could add your NoMoRobo number as a forwarding number, but GV requires you to verify the number and there is no way to do that with your NoMoRobo number.

Is your NoMoRobo number tollfree (800)? Is SP2 on your OBi110 free or defined as SIP? You can setup NoMoRobo if the answer is yes to the previous questions.


RichE,  If you add voip.ms or a Service Provider with similar features, it is possible to configure NoMoRobo to screen all calls.  I use voip.ms and after configuring my NoMoRobo account, I added the following to SP1 where I have voip.ms configured on my OBi200 using ObiTalk Expert Mode.

Voice Services > SP1 Service > X_InboundCallRoute
{>ph,sp1(1866732xyzx@sip.tollfreeproxy.com;ui=$1)}


1866732xyzx represents the number NoMoRobo assignmed to my account.

Update:  As noted by Lightbox
It appears that callwithus is no longer accepting no-registration call terminations.

Using the example from zorlac, I updated to use:
    @sip.tollfreeproxy.com

Nomorobo is working again to intercept Robo Calls.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: azrobert on September 04, 2015, 02:05:52 pm
I didn't have time to post a more detailed response with my last reply.

NoMoRobo can work with any provider, including GV. "Normally" the service provider is setup to ring your phone and NoMoRobo simulataneously. NoMoRobo blocks robo calls by answering them and produces a busy signal for all other calls. Apparently, NoMoRobi doesn't know about the OBi and only approves service providers that support simul-ring. When you setup your NoMoRobo account just lie about your service provider and pick one on the supported list.

It has been reported that NoMoRobo has assigned non-tollfree numbers to accounts. If you get one of these non-tollfree accounts you won't be able to use NoMoRobo. The OBi is setup to do the simul-ring using a free tollfree provider like tf.callwithus. These tollfree providers use the SIP protocol, so you need SP2 to be defined as SIP.

As part of the setup process, NoMoRobo will send you a test call to see if you are setup correctly, so you need the OBi110 configured before this. I assume you're not using SP2, so you need to define a dummy SIP trunk like this:
Service Providers -> ITSP Profile B -> SIP -> ProxyServer: 127.0.0.1
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> AuthUserName: anything
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> X_RegisterEnable: unchecked
Voice Services -> SP2 Service -> X_ServProvProfile: B

Now setup the simul-ring:
Voice Services -> SP1 Service -> X_InboundCallRoute:
ph,sp2(YourNoMoRoboNumber@tf.callwithus.com;ui=$1)

I believe tf.callwithus needs an 11 digit number.

Use OBi Expert to make the above configuration changes

Edit:
I corrected a typo in the Voice Services. I specified SP2 and corrected it with SP1.
 


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on September 04, 2015, 02:07:43 pm

Voice Services > SP1 Service > X_InboundCallRoute
{>ph,sp1(1866732xyzx@tf.callwithus.com;ui=$1)}


1866732xyzx represents the number NoMoRobo assignmed to my account.


I'm curious how many times your OBi connected phone rings before Nomorobo answers (when it is a known telemarketer) using this method? More than once?

I seem to remember when I used this method it would sometimes ring more than once which is why I do the fork at VoIP.ms.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on September 04, 2015, 02:09:48 pm

It has been reported that NoMoRobo has assigned non-tollfree numbers to accounts. If you get one of these non-tollfree accounts you won't be able to use NoMoRobo.


I just checked again. If you choose Vonage as your provider you will receive a toll-free number.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: lrosenman on September 04, 2015, 02:10:13 pm
I've seen it ring ONCE with my Vitelity/Obi setup


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: lrosenman on September 04, 2015, 02:10:47 pm
Yes, I picked Vonage when I set mine up.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: BigJim_McD on September 04, 2015, 03:09:42 pm

Voice Services > SP1 Service > X_InboundCallRoute
{>ph,sp1(1866732xyzx@sip.tollfreeproxy.com;ui=$1)}


1866732xyzx represents the number NoMoRobo assignmed to my account.

Update:  As noted by Lightbox
It appears that callwithus is no longer accepting no-registration call terminations.

Using the example from zorlac, I updated to use:
    @sip.tollfreeproxy.com

Nomorobo is working again to intercept Robo Calls.

I'm curious how many times your OBi connected phone rings before Nomorobo answers (when it is a known telemarketer) using this method? More than once?

I seem to remember when I used this method it would sometimes ring more than once which is why I do the fork at VoIP.ms.

Taoman,  Most often my Portable phone only rings once when NoMoRobo answers.  I seem to remember a time or two when it rang twice.  FYI:  I have my two line portable handset setup on an OBi202, while NoMoRobo is configured on an OBi200 with it's own portable handset that is part of the same "Ring Group".  I don't think that makes any difference in the number of times it rings.  

If I want to verify if a 1-ring call was answered by NoMoRobo, I check the Call History Logs on the OBi200 to see if the call connected.  I setup a speed dial test number with a "CallerID Number Override" using a know SPAMMER phone number to test that NoMoRobo would intercept a call with the CallerID of a known Spam call.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: RichE on September 07, 2015, 08:29:43 pm
I didn't have time to post a more detailed response with my last reply.

Thanks, I'll give that a try!

Rich


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Redbeard25 on November 06, 2015, 09:47:02 am
Worked like a CHARM!

On the Obi200, it's

Quote
Service Providers / ITSP Profile B SIP /ProxyServer
Voice Service / SP2 Service / X_ServProvProfile
Voice Service / SP2 Service / X_RegisterEnable
Voice Service / SP2 Service / AuthUserName
Voice Service / SP1 Service / X_InboundCallRoute

all the values you posted above.

You have to uncheck the "ObiTalk Settings," then uncheck the "Device Default" column for each setting you want to save, then save the page at the bottom.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on May 20, 2016, 07:09:25 pm
I just set this up on SP4 using "ph,sp4(1866732xxxx@sip.tollfreeproxy.com;ui=$1) & changed "B' to "D" & NOMOROBO's test call verified OK for both our GV#'s in SP1 & SP2.

Pretty Slick azrobert, THANKS!  ;)


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Lightbox on September 25, 2016, 08:07:39 am
It appears that callwithus is no longer accepting no-registration call terminations.

You can either register for an account, or use another provider. I ended up using tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com, and it's working well. Simply replace:

1866732xyzx@tf.callwithus.com;ui=$1 -> 1866732xyzx@tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com;ui=$1


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: proteus on September 28, 2016, 02:07:14 pm
I use GV on SP1 and Callcentric on SP2. I don't have a free SP slot remaining. Can I still use this to verify Nomorobo?


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 09:24:45 am
This doesn't seem to be working with tollfreeproxy.com anymore.
When I run the nomorobo test it doesn't seem to fork the call over to nomorobo :'( tollfreeproxy.com still has a webpage that says it should work so I'm stumped.
I've rechecked the settings specified in this topic and I'm configured OK.
Any suggestions?
Thanks


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: azrobert on March 06, 2017, 09:55:39 am
See: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31211171-General-TollFreeProxy-Taking-40-Seconds-to-Connect?search=tollfreeproxy


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 10:20:44 am
See: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31211171-General-TollFreeProxy-Taking-40-Seconds-to-Connect?search=tollfreeproxy
Unfortunately sip.denetron.com or tf.arctele.com don't seem to work either.
ph,sp4(1866732xxxx@tf.arctele.com;ui=$1)


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on March 06, 2017, 10:26:49 am
See: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31211171-General-TollFreeProxy-Taking-40-Seconds-to-Connect?search=tollfreeproxy
Unfortunately sip.denetron.com or tf.arctele.com don't seem to work either.
ph,sp4(1866732xxxx@tf.arctele.com;ui=$1)

How are you testing? I just tried a speed dial using tf.arctele.com with a known telespammer number and it worked fine. I also use:
tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 10:34:59 am
See: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31211171-General-TollFreeProxy-Taking-40-Seconds-to-Connect?search=tollfreeproxy
Unfortunately sip.denetron.com or tf.arctele.com don't seem to work either.
ph,sp4(1866732xxxx@tf.arctele.com;ui=$1)

How are you testing? I just tried a speed dial using tf.arctele.com with a known telespammer number and it worked fine. I also use:
tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com
I'm using the nomorobo webpage to make a test call to my GV numbers and nomorobo says it fails.
I even tried these guys http://www.teleinx.com/toll-free-termination but I'm not sure ph,sp4(1866732xxxx@107.161.17.108;ui=$1) would be a valid format after setting the username and passwords to 12345.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on March 06, 2017, 11:10:04 am
Make a call to your GV number. Then check your call history. Do you see the call forking correctly to the toll free number with the caller id?
Another toll free proxy I use is:

switch.starcompartners.com


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 11:21:34 am
Make a call to your GV number. Then check your call history. Do you see the call forking correctly to the toll free number with the caller id?
Another toll free proxy I use is:

switch.starcompartners.com
I've never seen any forked calls in my GV history even when it was working, maybe I misunderstand what you are asking.
All I know is if the progress band on the nomorobo site doesn't change color they're not receiving the test call.
I tried switch.starcompartners.com too so maybe my obi200 needs a factory reset to start over from scratch?
Thanks for the suggestions!


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on March 06, 2017, 11:42:14 am

I've never seen any forked calls in my GV history even when it was working, maybe I misunderstand what you are asking.


The fork is being done on your OBi. Why would you look at your GV history? You need to look at the call history on your OBi device using the local web interface. Here's an example from my OBi call history:

Fork to:
PH1
SP4(1866732XXXX@tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com;ui=5412992255)


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 12:31:43 pm
The fork is being done on your OBi. Why would you look at your GV history?
Ahh, my bad.

Here's the SPAM call that got through.

Call 36   03/06/2017    10:02:16   
10:02:16   From GT2(16193691250)   Fork to:
PH1
SP4(1866732xxxx@sip.tollfreeproxy.com;ui=16193691250)
10:02:16      Ringing (PH1)
10:02:34      Call Connected (PH1)
10:02:42      Call Ended

Here's the Nomorobo test call.

Call 34   03/06/2017    10:35:20   
10:35:20   From GT2(16315550543)   Fork to:
PH1
SP4(1866732xxxx@sip.tollfreeproxy.com;ui=16315550543)
10:35:20      Ringing (PH1)
10:35:45   Call Ended


Something strange is going on.
If I clear the X_InboundCallRoute field I still see a reference to SP4(1866732xxxx@sip.tollfreeproxy.com in the call history and any change I made with other providers never showed up in the history.
I think a factory reset may be in order, something just isn't right.



Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on March 06, 2017, 01:03:27 pm

Something strange is going on.
If I clear the X_InboundCallRoute field I still see a reference to SP4(1866732xxxx@sip.tollfreeproxy.com in the call history and any change I made with other providers never showed up in the history.
I think a factory reset may be in order, something just isn't right.


When you change your X_InboundCallRoute and save your settings and your OBi reboots when you go back to the X_InboundCallRoute field does it retain your change or does it revert back to the original setting?


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 01:34:32 pm
Yes the X_InboundCallRoute settings stay put on a reboot.
I did a factory reset and now there's no fork happening in the call log.

Call 1   03/06/2017    16:29:00   
16:29:00   From GT2(16315550543)   To PH1
16:29:00      Ringing
16:29:25   Call Ended


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on March 06, 2017, 02:22:19 pm
Well happy configuring. All of these work for me:

switch.starcompartners.com
tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com
tf.arctele.com


sip.denetron.com does not work for me.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 02:39:27 pm
What firmware version are you running?
My obi200 refuses to fork any calls using 3.1.1 (Build: 5562) at least with the settings I used before.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on March 06, 2017, 02:44:19 pm
What firmware version are you running?
My obi200 refuses to fork any calls using 3.1.1 (Build: 5562) at least with the settings I used before.

I'm running (Build: 5577). It "refuses?" What shows up in your call log? How do you currently have SP4 configured?


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 03:12:33 pm
What shows up in your call log?
How do you currently have SP4 configured?
Call 1   03/06/2017    16:29:00  
16:29:00   From GT2(16315550543)   To PH1
16:29:00      Ringing
16:29:25   Call Ended

All SP4 settings are the default settings except these.

X_ServProvProfile D

X_RegisterEnable unchecked

X_InboundCallRoute  ph,sp4(1866732xxxx@tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com;ui=$1)

AuthUserName anything

ITSP Profile D

ProxyServer 127.0.0.1

Every other setting is the default.

I have GV #'s in SP1&2 and Anveo on SP3


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on March 06, 2017, 03:30:00 pm
And the X_InboundCallRoute for your 2 GV trunks is what???????

Change X_InboundCallRoute for your 2 GV trunks to be:

ph,sp3(1866732xxxx@tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com;ui=$1)

Is Anveo being used for E911 only?


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: zorlac on March 06, 2017, 04:00:26 pm
And the X_InboundCallRoute for your 2 GV trunks is what???????

Change X_InboundCallRoute for your 2 GV trunks to be:

ph,sp3(1866732xxxx@tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com;ui=$1)

Is Anveo being used for E911 only?

Changed SP1 & 2  X_InboundCallRoute to below and now it works.
X_InboundCallRoute  ph,sp4(1866732xxxx@tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com;ui=$1)

I only use SP3 Anveo for 911 & as a failsafe if GV stops working.
So far Anveo hasn't had any SPAM yet so I'm leaving it alone.

It was so long ago that I guess I forgot that SP1 & @ 2 were changed too.
Thanks for persevering with me!  ;D


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Taoman on March 06, 2017, 04:08:46 pm

It was so long ago that I guess I forgot that SP1 & @ 2 were changed too.


There is no point in changing X_InboundCallRoute on SP4............unless you're planning on getting a lot of inbound spam calls on a dummy trunk.

And for that matter you didn't even need to make the dummy SIP trunk on SP4 since you already had a working SIP trunk on SP3 you could use.


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: SteveInWA on March 10, 2017, 08:49:03 pm
tf.arctele.com stopped working for me, too.  The OBi shows:

Code:
...three "Ringing" attempts, then...
Call Failed (503 UNAVAIL Route Advance -9902; SP1(1866xxxxxxx@tf.arctele.com:5060;ui=1425xxxxxxx))

I changed to alcazarnetworks and that works fine (call from non-Spam number shown going to busy as it should):

Code:
Call Failed (486 Busy Here; SP1(186xxxxxxx@tollfree.alcazarnetworks.com;ui=1425xxxxxxx))

Sheesh, this is getting to be like "whack-a-mole".


Title: Re: how to set up nomorobo with obihai obitalk google voice?
Post by: Shinelikethunder on May 16, 2019, 12:18:04 am
First, I think one of the early posts contains a serious error that's repeated in quotes of that post:
{>ph,sp1(1866732xyzx@sip.tollfreeproxy.com;ui=$1)}
I had no success until I removed the ">".
Second, verification with Nomorobo should work if the configuration is correct and the proxy is working. Tollfreeproxy.com didn't work for me. Examining the call history, it's necessary to verify not only that the fork is done, but also that that line rings. You should see an entry like:
    "Ringing (SP3(1877xxxxxxx@switch.starcompartners.com;ui=1631555xxxx))"