News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Can I initiate a call from my computer but talk on my rotary phone with Obi200?

Started by SteveLL, January 09, 2016, 02:22:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SteveLL

Hi All,
Brand new user. My wife inherited an old rotary phone from her grandfather and I thought it would be nice if I could put it to use for her. I bought the Obi200.

Again - it's rotary, so even registering the device was hard. I ultimately used a telephone tone generation app to play the ObiTalk registration tones through my desktop computer's external speakers into the rotary phone's mouthpiece. It took a couple tries, but I did successfully register the device that way.

It's configured with Google Voice now, which I think is working. (I'm brand new to GV too).

General confirmation that GV is good is that I can make and receive GV calls from my mobile phone and from the desktop computer. And if I call my GV number from my work phone, the rotary phone rings and I can answer and the call works.

But I want to be able to make outgoing calls. I don't want to buy a pulse->touchtone convertor, though I know that would be an option. I considered trying to make outgoing calls the same way I registered the device, by playing a wav file through my computer's speakers into the old rotary phone mouthpiece, but it doesn't work well (truthfully, it hasn't worked once - I tried a few times). I bet it would work sometimes but not consistently enough to be the solution.

This rotary phone is gong to sit on my wife's desk right next to her computer. I want her to be able to initiate the calls from the computer but use the rotary phone as the handset once the call is placed (like GV can do with a mobile phone). In my head I was thinking of my work situation where I can do this, but that's an enterprise VOIP system and the handset and software is all sold together by the VOIP provider.