News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Two Different Google Voice Accounts

Started by SomeDude, March 18, 2011, 02:08:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SomeDude

Novice here. Possible to setup two GV accounts on one Obi? I have my own GV # and so does my Wife, but ultimately we don't want to use each others. Possible?

Thanks

RonR

Yes, I'm doing that here.  One (or possibly both if you have the LINE Port as your PrimaryLine) will have to dial **1 or **2 to use their particular account for outgoing calls.

whitestar

I got my Obi110 a couple days ago. I used the web-portal to put my Google Voice account on SP1, but I tried to put my parents Google Voice on SP2 using the web portal and it isn't working. I want to see if I can convince them to drop their regular home phone service, so it would be nice to have both ports working for testing purposes.

I realized that my parents GV account hadn't gone through the required activation steps, such as logging into gmail, making a call, selecting "forward to google chat" in GV, etc. I did all that and it still isn't working. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Obitalk is saying I should upgrade my firmware to 200780510, but I wanted to play around with it first before I dare to update the firmware (past bad experiences with other devices makes me hesitant to upgrade firmwares unless necessary...)

RonR

In this case, you should update the firmware first as the version shipped on new OBi's has a number of problems that have since been corrected.  1.2.1 (Build: 2384) appears to be stable.

jimates

Quote from: RonR on June 20, 2011, 01:26:02 PM

In this case, you should update the firmware first as the version shipped on new OBi's has a number of problems that have since been corrected.  1.2.1 (Build: 2384) appears to be stable.

And you can always downgrade the firmware if needed.

whitestar