December 12, 2017, 06:07:48 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: no any phone tones on OBI202  (Read 1907 times)
zacharach
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« on: February 05, 2016, 10:41:18 am »

Hello,

my OBI202 No: 202 728 914
has no any phone tone, i try to restore factory and update newest firmware, but still no any phone tone on phone1 and phone2 port, every lights are normal, and can login system to configure anything, so how can i do?

Sincerely!
Logged
StudioMusician
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2016, 04:41:42 pm »

I had this same problem on a 110 and was told no dial tone = a dead modem.

I hope someone on here can confirm, but that's what I was told by Obi Support.

Sorry for the bad news...  I hope I'm wrong, but Obi Support will let you know.

Call them before your warranty is up on your modem if you can.
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 2708


« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2016, 01:58:43 am »

No dial tone can be caused by:

1. Faulty phone cord.

2. Faulty phone.

3. Faulty OBi device.

4. Faulty OBi PSU.

The first two are best checked by substitution. Ensure you check by plugging directly into the OBi,  not via doublers or house wiring.

No dial tone is NOT caused by a faulty modem,  unless by "modem" you mean the OBi device. A working OBi will give dial tone even without anything connected to its network port.
Logged
zacharach
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2016, 03:59:25 pm »

Thank you guys!
my phone is okay,
the OBI support told me that i need buy a new one from Amazon because this one was already out of warranty.
Logged
dircom
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 425


« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2016, 07:36:05 am »

Thank you guys!
my phone is okay,
the OBI support told me that i need buy a new one from Amazon because this one was already out of warranty.

Obi support is saying it is out of warranty, they won't help you, buy a new device.
You say the phone is good, as drgeoff says, the power supply could be defective.

A UPS helps protect your modem/router/computer/ obi etc from surges/spikes/brownouts, and power interruptions
« Last Edit: February 09, 2016, 07:46:27 am by dircom » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC