July 19, 2018, 04:34:20 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Phone Power states it is offline in dashboard  (Read 4015 times)
arvey
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« on: March 12, 2016, 05:37:07 pm »

I got a new Linksys modem and ever since my Obi200 dashboard states my phone power account is "offline".  I have a dial tone but outgoing calls do not go through (number called has not received a response from the service provider message) and incoming calls go to voice mail. I've spent hours on this and haven't seen anyone address this problem. I deleted Phone Power from SP1 and re-added it but I still see the same offline message and the phone calls don't work. Light on Obi is a solid green. Thanks.
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 4741



« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2016, 06:52:14 pm »

Hi:

Be more specific; what do you mean "Linksys modem"?  Is this a cable modem (DOCSIS modem)?  Or, is it a Linksys router?  What model number is the product?
Logged

arvey
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2016, 08:57:15 pm »

Sorry I meant Linksys router. AC1200.
I wish to amend my question to configuration of the wifi dongle for obi200 as my device works if connected to the router with an ethernet cable.

For the wifi I follow the instructions provided by the video found at www.obihai.com/wifi. I follow all the steps exactly until after running the setup script. The user then types in obiconnect.com/wifi. This DOES NOT work as you are simply redirected back to the directions at www.obihai.com/wifi. This is where I am stuck.
I logged onto the setup page of my device after reconnecting the ethernet cable and change the wifi settings to match my new router name and password  but the ObiBT Dongle Status indicates "No Dongle" and I am not able to call without being connected via the ethernet cable. Are there any updated instructions for this? Thank you.
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 4741



« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2016, 09:45:03 pm »

Is this a genuine OBiBT dongle, from Obihai, or are you attempting to use some other brand of WiFi dongle?  Only the Obihai dongles will work.

If it IS an Obihai OBiBT, then, did it work correctly with your old router?  I've had trouble, myself, when trying to reconfigure an OBiBT to a new WiFi access point.  It's unclear why this happens.  It seems like you need to completely wipe out any old data about that dongle on your OBi.  I went nuts trying to do this, but eventually got it to work.

While the OBi is connected via Ethernet, try logging on to your OBiTALK dashboard, then click on your OBi and get into Expert configuration mode.  Find and expand the section for WiFi Settings.  Remove all four check marks from the SSID and password fields.  Enter your WiFi SSID and password.  Scroll down and click Submit.  After the device reboots, check those two fields to confirm that the change "stuck", and it didn't get changed back to the wrong value.

Next, log into your OBi's local web page interface (press ***1 on your attached telephone to hear the IP address).  Find the same WiFi setting, and confirm that it is correct.  If necessary, remove the check marks for the "Default" boxes.  Look up at the top of the web page for the section called "Basic settings".  Make sure that "Enable" is check-marked, and that it is set to use Access Point 1 as the preferred access point.  Make changes as needed and click the submit button to save.
Logged

arvey
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2016, 11:23:55 pm »

OK thanks Steve. Seems to be cheaper to just buy a new dongle. Yes this worked for years on the old router. I'll give this a try. Thanks again.
Logged
arvey
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2016, 06:34:32 am »

I log into the dashboard but don't know what you mean by clicking on my device and going into expert configuration. I don't see this. Can you be more explicit? Thanks.
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 4741



« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2016, 03:25:41 pm »

On a laptop or desktop web browser, log into your OBiTALK account.  You should end up at this web page:

http://www.obitalk.com/obinet/pg/obhdev

Look for your OBi device.  If you have just one OBi 200, then you will see it on that page, along with the "softphone", which you can ignore.  Mouse-click on your OBi 200.

The next page is the basic configuration page, where you can add, change or delete Service Providers (SP1 -- SP4), set your OBi's password, time zone, etc.

Scroll down to the bottom of that page, and click the blue button that says "OBi Expert Configuration".  Click OK to the "Are you sure" question.  Click the blue button that says "Enter OBi Expert".

On the page that appears, you will see a list of all the sections of settings.  Click the + sign next to OBiWiFi Configuration.  Make your changes and click Submit at the bottom of the page.  Wait a few minutes for the portal to send the configuration to your OBi and let it reboot.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC