News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

First-time setup questions

Started by Carnivore, April 07, 2016, 02:11:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Carnivore

I'm new to Obi and Voip and I have a few questions on setting up my Obi202.

1. I plan to port my Verizon landline number to Google Voice via a prepaid T-Mobile SIM card. I already have a Google Voice number associated with my Google account that I never use. Can I replace that number with the one I'm porting over, or will I need to create a new, additional Google account for the new number?

2. I understand I'll need to add a second Voip provider to Obi in order to see the Caller ID Name (CNAM) on incoming calls, and to provide E911 service. Will these things all be associated with my primary GV number, or will I have multiple phone numbers to juggle in order to get it all working together? 

3. What are the names of the plans I would need to sign up for at Callcentric and/or voip.ms to provide the above functionality, without paying extra for services I won't need since I'll be using GV for my day-to-day calling?

4. I'm currently using Nomorobo.com to block telemarketing calls to my home phone, which requires the use of the "simultaneous ring" calling feature. Will I be able to continue using this service with the Obi configured as above?  Or does Obi or the Voip providers provide their own telemarketing/spam management?

Thanks.

Taoman

1) You can replace your existing GV number with the one you're porting over.

2) Once initial setup is completed you will have just the GV number number to juggle.

3) IP Freedom on Callcentric (plus E911) but for $.45 more per month ($1.95/month total) I would recommend a free Callcentric DID (which includes free CNAM) along with the North America Basic plan which includes E911, 120 outbound minutes per month, plus no charge for unlimited toll-free calls (potentially important for Nomorobo)