News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Newbie trying to setup Obi202 with Google Voice

Started by HahnyHohenheim, December 21, 2019, 10:40:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HahnyHohenheim

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this with intermediate tech skills and have been having a hard time getting my device to work properly.  I followed some of the basic setup screens and have had issues at the "Add device" screen.

Add device issues:
  "The number you've dialed **5 XXXX has been sent to the server" (repeated 3x).  

Then the timeout counts down and at around 80 seconds gives me a dial tone.  

After the countdown I receive the following message:
  "Failed to connect to your device. Please check your device's internet connection:

I followed the following advice from the Troubleshooting page, but got nowhere:

Unable to add device to OBiTALK
   Are you able to reach the Echo Test Server by dialing * * 9 222-222-222?

From <https://www.obitalk.com/info/support/troubleshooting>

Reboot both your router and the OBi device, then dial * * 9 222-222-222 again. If you are still unable to reach the Echo Test Server, please put the OBi device in the DMZ setting in your router's configuration/ This tells your router to not block any incoming network traffic (from your service provider) to your OBi device. It is safe for the OBi to be in the DMZ (Click HERE to see example).Try adding your device to OBiTALK again.

From <https://www.obitalk.com/info/support/troubleshooting>

My lights read: two left most are solid green (2nd flashes like it's transmitting data when I pick it up).  3rd light is blank.  4th light blinks green 1x/sec when I pick up the phone.

Can anyone help me get started with this?  

drgeoff

It is very rare that an OBi needs to be put in a router's DMZ.

OBis do not support pulse dialling. Check that your phone is using tone dialling.

HahnyHohenheim