December 13, 2017, 03:18:51 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Squealing/metallic echo on OBi200  (Read 4081 times)
IndyNC
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« on: August 22, 2017, 03:45:25 pm »

I've had an OBi200 for about a year and a half using Google Voice. All of a sudden there is a squealing/metallic echo sound on all the calls and the dial tone as well.

I have tested another phone to make sure it wasn't that. And unplugged and replugged in the OBi's power too of course.

Anyone had similar problem and gotten it working or is it just time to buy a new OBi box?
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3953



« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2017, 04:22:36 pm »

Hi:

So, it makes that noise as soon as you pick up the phone, on the dial tone, even before keying in any digits?

If so, and if it is doing that with two different phones, then yah, it's probably failed hardware.  Did you adjust the transmit or receive volume levels on the OBi?  If you did, then it's possible you set it too high, and it's causing feedback in your phones.

The first thing to try would be a restore to factory defaults.  The easiest way to do this is to pick up the phone and key in ***8, then 1 to confirm.  If it still squeals after that, it's defective.  If you have another power adapter with the same specs as the one that came with the OBi, you could swap it out to see if that's the culprit.  Many home networking devices (routers, switches) use power adapters with the same specs.  Otherwise, it's time for a visit by the Acme Anvil Company.


* acme-anvil.jpg (9.88 KB, 270x270 - viewed 38 times.)
Logged

IndyNC
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2017, 07:43:44 pm »

Yep, seems like trash time. Thanks for the help at any rate Smiley
Logged
Almighty1
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 28


« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2017, 03:04:54 pm »

Probably just capacitors going bad as they usually use cheap low quality non-Japanese ones.  Just replace it with quality Panasonic, United/Nippon Chemi-Con, Rubycon or Nichicon branded capacitors and it will probably fix the problem.
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3953



« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2017, 05:04:58 pm »

Probably just capacitors going bad as they usually use cheap low quality non-Japanese ones.  Just replace it with quality Panasonic, United/Nippon Chemi-Con, Rubycon or Nichicon branded capacitors and it will probably fix the problem.

Well, with the standard disclaimers, "No user serviceable parts inside.  Warning, the State of California has determined that this product may cause cancer.  Warning, the beverage you are about to enjoy is very hot.  Capacitors in mirror are larger than they appear.  Etc.."

Yes, there are (only) two electrolytic capacitors on the board, and they are Chinese JWCO brand, 100uF, 25VDC.  There's enough vertical room to probably fit a pair of nice Panasonic 220uF caps to replace them.
Logged

GPz1100
Full Member
***
Posts: 115


« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2017, 11:21:57 pm »

To the OP, would you say this unit saw *LOTS* of use (talk time)?  Was it plugged directly into the wall, a power strip, surge protector, or ups?

I keep all our electronics on a ups, or at the very least a surge protector.  Actually ran out of outlets in the ups for all the internet related stuff - modem, switch, ap, firewall, obi.  Ended up plugging a generic 6 or 8 outlet power strip into one of the battery backed outlets on the ups.  Told the family NOT to plug anything else into the power strip. 

Our obi200 is also over a year old, so far so good.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC