News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Pls. help me setting up OBi110 for use with GV(?) in Canada

Started by tavie888, August 05, 2012, 12:21:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tavie888

Hello,

Voip newbie here. I recently purchased an OBi110 hoping to be able to make free LD calls throughout the US and Canada using Google Voice (GV).  Inside the box there's a piece of paper showing how to use GV with OBi, but I just found out GV is available in the US only.  I have a Gmail account which also has Google Talk

Could you please show me how to do the following? Same sequence as in the small guide in the OBi110 box.

1. Set up OBi device with local network and phone. A question for this particular section: Do I need to disconnect the line to Bell phone service first,in order to use VOIP? I want to be able to connect my landline phone to OBI110 for now, until I am comfortable enough to disconnect it from Bell.

2. Set up Google Talk to make and receive calls with the OBi110.  Please note that in Canada we currently cannot use Google Voice. How do I use Google Talk?

3. Configure Google Talk on OBi110 at OBITALK.COM

I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Thank you kindly for your help.

tavie888

PS: Just signed up with voip.ms.  I intend to use voip.ms for incoming calls and Google Talk for outgoing calls.

QBZappy

tavie888,

Have a look here. This may get you going with getting a GV number in Canada.

One time charge of $50 for a SIP Acct at freephoneline+How to setup GV in Canada
http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=93.0
Owner of the 1st OBi110/100 units in service in Canada & South America. 1st OBi202 on my street. 1st OBi1032 in Montreal.

tavie888

Hello QBZappy,