December 12, 2017, 03:54:38 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to configure an obi302?  (Read 369 times)
n4mwd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 21


« on: November 20, 2017, 12:08:37 pm »

I am trying to configure my new obi302.  I am familiar with the obi200.  Despite a total absence of instructions in that came with it, I was able to finally get into the device with the default password admin and user name admin.

However, there is nothing there that will allow me to configure the device for my asterisk server.  It has router configuration stuff (which is totally useless since it will operate behind the NAT).  The router stuff is totally useless since I already have a router.

How do I get into the configuration menu so that I can provision the lines and set up the sip providers?    Is this simply a bad unit with bad firmware?  Is there an updated firmware that works properly?
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 2706


« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2017, 01:02:41 pm »

Where did you obtain the OBi302?  These are more commonly procured by service providers and may have customised firmware which prevents the end user (the provider's customer) from meddling with the pre-configured settings tailored to that provider.

A retail 302 has virtually identical menus to a 202 and a 202 uses the exact same firmware as a 200 so you would be very familiar with the configuration menus.
Logged
n4mwd
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 21


« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2017, 02:01:28 pm »

Thanks for the reply.  I bought it from Newegg.  There was no mention of a special provider.  Nevertheless, after I messed with it for a while, the configuration menus simply appeared out of nowhere.  There is obviously some firmware problems so I upgraded it to the latest which is supposed to be version 3.2.1 (Build: 5757EX).  However, I noticed after upgrading that all the Google Voice setup menus disappeared.

I still don't have it working per se, but at least now I can get to the configuration menus.  Here is what I did to get where I'm at:

1) First, plug the computer directly into the LAN port of the 302 and access it at 192.168.10.1 .
2) Go into System Management->Device Admin and change AccessFromWAN to checked.
3) Submit, Reboot.
4) Unplug the computer from the 302's LAN port and then plug the 302's WAN port into the router or switch.  (Yes, plug it into the WAN port not the LAN this time.)
5) Now the device can be accessed from anywhere on your Lan.
6) On my router, it came in as 192.168.1.101, and shows up in the Tomato device list as an Obi202.

There was definitely something flakey about the firmware not showing the config menus.  I hope that they got it fixed in the latest version of the firmware.
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 2706


« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2017, 04:34:32 pm »

OBi300 and OBi302 do NOT support Google Voice.  That is the main difference between them and the 2xx equivalents.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC