December 19, 2018, 01:59:52 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New router and now I can't seem to get my Obihai to connect  (Read 4397 times)
KrisK
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


« on: February 23, 2018, 11:04:58 am »

I had my router hooked up to my gateway that I purchased (SBG6580) and I can't remember if I had to unblock any of the firewall settings in order to get it to work it was over a year ago and I don't remember. But yesterday I bought a new router and hooked up the router to my modem and now I can't seem to get my obihai connected. I know I had a static IP address when it was connected to the gateway. How can I reset the entire obihai? I also accidently deleted the Obihai off my web portal and I am trying to readd it and it keeps telling me to dial the **number and when I do it keeps saying it was sent and that I can hang up but it doesn't seem to refresh the page so I can continue I guess maybe because I need to either open a port in my router or change the firewall settings. Any ideas please help! thanks!!!
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3865


« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2018, 04:54:38 pm »

Possibly the new router is using a different subnet from the old one.  If the OBi is set to DHCP that would not matter but as you say your OBi has been set to a static IP address then it will not work.

You don't say what OBi model you have.  If it is a 202 then ensure you have connected its INTERNET socket (not the LAN socket) to the router.

There are three ways to completely reset to defaults.  I guess the third one below is not available to you.

1.  The reset button underneath. https://www.obitalk.com/info/faq/Troubleshooting-sec/How-to-Factory-Reset

2.  From attached, phone dial ***8 and follow the prompts.

3.  Using the onboard web server GUI.
Logged
Malachi123
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 30


« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2018, 03:42:45 pm »

Maybe I'm just blabbering here, but I have it set up so that my router is AFTER my obi device. Why don't you try that first? I have a 202 device, just FYI, but I have it set up, so that my modem connects to my obi, and my obi then connects to my router and everything else is after that. That way I can even turn my router off if I want to without any issues for my obi, so that I'll always get my calls. Just a thought...
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3865


« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2018, 04:09:34 pm »

Maybe I'm just blabbering here, but I have it set up so that my router is AFTER my obi device. Why don't you try that first? I have a 202 device, just FYI, but I have it set up, so that my modem connects to my obi, and my obi then connects to my router and everything else is after that. That way I can even turn my router off if I want to without any issues for my obi, so that I'll always get my calls. Just a thought...
That is only possible with a 202 or 302 and they are rather poor routers compared to any modern router.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC