News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Advice on purchase and what I am wanting to do please

Started by beachin, August 20, 2011, 12:27:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

beachin

[font=Hi, I am a newbie and I have not purchased the system yet. I would like to do that today but need to make sure that what I want to do will work and that there won't be a lot of bugs. I currently have a MagicJack. I am tired of being stuck to the computer to use it. Also tired of the strain I feel it puts on my computer and I don't feel safe with having to open a port for it. I saw posts here where you have to do the same thing apparently for this product.

MagicJack by the way has come out with the new MagicJack Plus which gets plugged into your router. Not your computer if you want it that way. Then you don't have to leave your computer on. My concern with MagicJack is that they can shut off your service or change your number and you are not allowed to connect to other VoiP's like sipgate or GV. They can just up and disconnect you if they want. On the other hand I have been using their service for a year and I know it works.... I just moved here. I just came back from a brief year in Mexico and am glad to be back in the US but not working yet so trying to do what I can for the least amount of money.