News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

How to have Obi110 present 10 digit caller ID from POTS Line

Started by Rusty, August 21, 2011, 06:43:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rusty

Hi,

I'm new to the Obi 110, and have started by sticking it in between my POTS line and Uniden phone (I just want to test this out before getting started with VOIP).

One of the problems I've been unable to solve is that Caller ID which comes in via the POTS line as a full 10 digit number (and is presented as such in the web interface (in 'Call History'), only shows up as a 7 digit number on the Uniden phone. This is a problem in my region because all ten digits must be dialed to connect to a local number (i.e. to use the Uniden's call history to automatically dial a number, the full 10 digits of each number must be stored).

I've gone through the menus and docs several times, but can't seem to find a way to get this working.  I'm sure I'm missing something obvious...  Any pointers?

Thanks.

-Rusty

RonR

Does your Uniden phone display a 10-digit number when connected directly to your POTS line?

I don't have CallerID on my POTS line so I can't test this, but I'd be very surprised if the OBi is stripping the area code from the CallerID it's sending to the PHONE Port and only on calls from the LINE Port.  As far a I know, there is no option in the OBi to enable or disable such an action.

Rusty

Yes, when the Uniden is connected directly to the POTS line, it displays the full 10-digit Caller ID (i.e. it appears that the OBI110 is stripping out the area code).

If there's no way to disable this, is it possible to implement a workaround in which any time a 7-digit number is dialed, the Obi will prepend the local area code?

Thanks.

-Rusty

RonR

Assuming your telephone company wants all calls made using 1 + 10-digits, set:

Physical Interfaces -> LINE Port -> DigitMap: