August 16, 2018, 05:32:25 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Unable to configure new Obi200  (Read 321 times)
sasuser
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


« on: August 11, 2018, 05:35:25 pm »

Just ported a number to Google Voice and set up a newly purchased Obi200.  Was able add the device to my dashboard, but have not been able to configure it.  The Obi is connected directly to the Arris modem. I know GV is working as calls to the newly ported number ring to my linked device.  I've tried multiple suggestions i've found posted on this forum - and after each have had various responses when i dial for an echo test including 1. No service available to complete your call 2. silence 3. IP address not available.  
On the Obi the three LEDs have been the same all along -   1. Power LED is solid green, 2. Eye shaped LED is flashing green 3. Telephone LED is off.
I tried resetting. There was an icon which i think means i should update the Obi but haven't been able to do so since i can't seem to have access to the internet through the Obi.
i reached out to customer service a couple of days ago but have not gotten  response.  I'm wondering if it has something to do with the modem - which is supplied by Spectrum.  
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3557


« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2018, 01:07:37 am »

Please delete the other identical post in this section of the forum so that all discussion takes place in this thread.

I'm puzzled that you have been able to add your OBi200 to the Dashboard (the dial **5xxxx procedure) despite the echo test not working and "IP address not available".

Is the Spectrum modem a modem or a modem router?  How many ethernet jacks does it have?  Please give the model number?
Logged
sasuser
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2018, 02:22:23 pm »

Hello,
Thank you for following up.
The Spectrum modem is an Arris TG1672G with 4 ethernet jacks.  I believe it is only a modem, as there is a NetGear 58 router.
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3557


« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2018, 02:45:01 pm »

Hello,
Thank you for following up.
The Spectrum modem is an Arris TG1672G with 4 ethernet jacks.  I believe it is only a modem, as there is a NetGear 58 router.

We are off to a bad start that you were not able to read  https://arris.secure.force.com/consumers/ConsumerProductDetail?p=a0ha000000NJnzJAAT and the first sentence therein "The Touchstone TG1672 DOCSIS 3.0 Data Gateway is a 16x4 advanced gateway product. The TG1672 combines two analog voice lines, a 4-port Gigabit Router, and ..."

So what is the relevance of the Netgear 58 and how is everything wired up?
Logged
sasuser
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2018, 03:01:49 pm »

Well, not sure then why i have an additional router Smiley
But i don't think it matters since the Obi is connected directly to the modem. 
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3557


« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2018, 03:26:10 pm »

Well, not sure then why i have an additional router Smiley
But i don't think it matters since the Obi is connected directly to the modem. 
It could matter if the Arris is in bridge mode.  Do I assume that you did not set all this up yourself?

Please detail exactly how the Arris, Netgear, the Obi, your computer and anything else are connected.  A complete list of every cable with precise details of where each end is plugged in.
Logged
sasuser
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2018, 03:48:05 pm »

You are correct, i did not set this up.
The internet cable is connected to the Arris. 
The Netgear58 router is connected via ethernet cable directly to the Arris.
The Obi200 is connected via ethernet cable directly to the Arris. 
There is a phone cable connecting the Obi200 to a phone.
My computer and phone are wifi connected via the Netgear router.

Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3557


« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2018, 04:10:09 pm »

You are correct, i did not set this up.
The internet cable is connected to the Arris. 
The Netgear58 router is connected via ethernet cable directly to the Arris.
The Obi200 is connected via ethernet cable directly to the Arris. 
There is a phone cable connecting the Obi200 to a phone.
My computer and phone are wifi connected via the Netgear router.



You are not good at following instructions.  I said "precise details".  You should have told me what jack on the Arris is connected to what jack on the Netgear.

Try this.
1. Unplug the Obi's power lead.
2. Unplug the OBi's ethernet cable from the Arris and instead plug it into one of the LAN jacks on the Netgear.
3. Plug the Obi's power lead in.
4. Wait for the OBi's power LED to become steady green.
5.  Dial **9 222 222 222.  Report back what you hear.
Logged
sasuser
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2018, 04:45:16 pm »

Oh my gosh, i followed your instructions and the echo test worked! 
I had tried connecting the ethernet cable from the Obi to the Netgear LAN jack several times, but could not get it to work.  Maybe unplugging the Obi was the trick?
Logged
sasuser
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2018, 04:58:54 pm »

Unfortunately, still unable to configure.  I get an error message; Backing Off: TCP connection to 125.206.194.173 failed.
Logged
sasuser
Newbie
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2018, 05:04:24 pm »

never mind, after trying again got it to work!  thank you!!!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC