News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

want to make calls showing my work mobile number using the Obi. Possible?

Started by RappLake, August 20, 2018, 05:59:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RappLake

I want to make calls showing my work mobile number using the Obi. Possible?

Im remote area and on satellite where I have NO mobile signal, but do have satellite internet.

My obi is connected to the satellite.

I have google voice. Both my work and personal mobiles are connected to the google voice account and so is my Obi.

Thoughts, please? I am NOT a techie

drgeoff

Not possible if using Google Voice.

The OBi is capable of requesting an ITSP to use a different CallerID from the DID.  However, many ITSPs, including GV, do not honour the request.  That is deliberate policy, not a bug.

drgeoff

Quote from: RappLake on August 20, 2018, 11:30:39 AM
thanks.. i'm not sure what you mean by DID
Direct Inward Dial.  The number that others dial to reach you.

A_Friend

Quote from: RappLake on August 20, 2018, 05:59:55 AM
I want to make calls showing my work mobile number using the Obi. Possible?

Im remote area and on satellite where I have NO mobile signal, but do have satellite internet.

My obi is connected to the satellite.

I have google voice. Both my work and personal mobiles are connected to the google voice account and so is my Obi.

Thoughts, please? I am NOT a techie

Okay, to do this, you need another carrier, and you'll have to pay for the minutes you use.  If you're just going to originate calls, and not receive them, it's pretty straightforward.  You can get an account from (for example, although I recommend either of these) circlenet.biz or voip.ms and set them up to spoof your work mobile number.  You can then originate calls with that Caller ID when you select that service for outbound.