October 19, 2018, 04:54:13 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does OBI require dial tone on FXO to attempt to dial?  (Read 2417 times)
fish
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« on: September 06, 2011, 08:03:54 pm »

I have a 'warm line' or 'quick dial tone' POTS service to my house. This is a line with no dial tone but has battery from the CO. When I plug a phone in, it lights up and gets some line noise. The State PUC requires local telephone companies continue to offer 911 service to people who discontinue telephone service.

So I'd like to attach this 'warm line' to the FXO on my OBI110 strictly for 911 service. I haven't tested this, obviously, but my question is as follows: Does the OBI110 require dial tone on the FXO before attempting to dial? If so, is there a setting that will over ride this requirement?
Logged
RonR
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 4527


« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2011, 08:24:05 pm »

It appears the OBi does not have dialtone detection.  It has a setting:

Physical Interfaces -> LINE Port -> DialDelay : 500

which is documented as:

Delay in milliseconds before dialing out the first digit to the PSTN Line after the OBi takes the LINE Port hardware to the Off-Hook state. This is a simple way to allow the PSTN company time to get ready to receive DTMF signals from the OBi without having the OBi monitor dial tone from the PSTN company

The OBi routes 911 calls to the LINE Port by default.
Logged
Everton
Full Member
***
Posts: 163


« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2011, 08:30:44 pm »

I have a 'warm line' or 'quick dial tone' POTS service to my house. This is a line with no dial tone but has battery from the CO. When I plug a phone in, it lights up and gets some line noise. The State PUC requires local telephone companies continue to offer 911 service to people who discontinue telephone service.

So I'd like to attach this 'warm line' to the FXO on my OBI110 strictly for 911 service. I haven't tested this, obviously, but my question is as follows: Does the OBI110 require dial tone on the FXO before attempting to dial? If so, is there a setting that will over ride this requirement?

Good question and something I would like to have an answer to.  Why not test it to see if it works?  BTW, which state are you in?
Logged
RonR
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 4527


« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2011, 08:40:46 pm »

Good question and something I would like to have an answer to.  Why not test it to see if it works?

I'm a little skeptical that the line will actually accept a 911 (or any) call without dialtone.  It'll be interesting to hear the outcome.
Logged
tome
Full Member
***
Posts: 167


« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2011, 08:42:25 pm »

It is indeed around but more and more carriers are trying to get the requirement repealed.  Here is an article from CA a while back.  I suppose if you have it, take advantage while you can...

http://www.capitolweekly.net/article.php?xid=yywtegnq0w1ut9

Tom

ps: I was just doing some reading about it online and in many places there isn't a strict requirement for the telco to provide it and so lines might stay warm until a pair is needed at which point it might stop working without warning.  Would be a good idea to know if your state explicitly requires the telco to provide it or not.  A note to your local PUC will probably get an answer.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2011, 08:55:25 pm by tome » Logged
Ostracus
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 576


« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2011, 11:04:28 pm »

It is indeed around but more and more carriers are trying to get the requirement repealed.  Here is an article from CA a while back.  I suppose if you have it, take advantage while you can...

http://www.capitolweekly.net/article.php?xid=yywtegnq0w1ut9

Tom

ps: I was just doing some reading about it online and in many places there isn't a strict requirement for the telco to provide it and so lines might stay warm until a pair is needed at which point it might stop working without warning.  Would be a good idea to know if your state explicitly requires the telco to provide it or not.  A note to your local PUC will probably get an answer.

That's an interesting article and like it says towards the end, what if there's an accident and no one responds because of what's happening with "warm lines"? Who will get the blame, and responsibility?
Logged
jimates
OBi110 Beta Testers
***
Posts: 1610


« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2011, 04:49:36 am »

I get a "no service is available to complete your call" when trying to access the line (press #) or make a call, when there is no active service on the line port. This includes dialing 911.
Logged
RonR
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 4527


« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2011, 09:24:27 am »

I get a "no service is available to complete your call" when trying to access the line (press #) or make a call, when there is no active service on the line port. This includes dialing 911.

While the OBi apparently doesn't look for dialtone, it does look for battery/loop current.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC