News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Trouble with OBi212 as FXO for FreePBX

Started by legotech, November 27, 2018, 09:34:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

legotech

I'm a new user for the Obihai products as well as FreePBX.  I have a lot of technical experience, but not a lot with phones & SIP.  I've automated a lot of my home (OpenHAB with lots of various devices) and am looking to upgrade my home phones to add paging, conferencing, etc. 

I've installed FreePBX 14.0.2.10 on a Raspberry Pi to do some initial testing (I'll move over to a Linux VM on my home server if I like how things work).  This will let me test various phones, etc. in an isolated network environment before I roll it out to the whole house.  It's not going to get worked very hard, so the Pi could run it indefinitely, but I probably won't.

As part of this project, we have a land-line phone that I want to integrate (doesn't get used much, just places that we don't want to give our cell # to but might need to reach us once in a great while) using the OBi212 as an FXO gateway (and FXS for an analog phone, but that's working).

I've tried every article and tutorial I can find, and cannot get the FXO to register with FreePBX.  All the tutorials I've found are oriented toward the 110, etc. so I'm wondering if there's something unique about the 212 that's causing me trouble.  Specifically, I've used these resources (plus a few other lesser ones):

http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=1157.0
http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=57.0
https://wiki.freepbx.org/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=4161594

OBi212 us running version 3.2.1 (Build: 5735EX).  I don't have the OBi212 registered with Obitalk, as I prefer not to if possible.