October 28, 2020, 03:27:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: After factory reset can't add OBi202 to dashboard. How to update firmware?  (Read 5447 times)
glaucia1023
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« on: June 01, 2019, 08:12:46 pm »

Hi there,

I did a factory reset (long story) on my OBi202.  The current status of my device is the following:

The power LED status is solid green
The ethernet port LED if flashing green
The phone port LED is off, but lights up green when the phone is off the hook
I am able to connect to the OBi202's web interface and found out the Software Version is 3.2.2 (Build: 5921EX)

After that I can't add it back to my OBitalk dashboard.  These are the behaviors I found trying to add to the dashboard:
**5 XXXX results in a fast busy signal.
Placing the OBi device in the DMZ setting in my router does not change anything.
Rebooting both your router and the OBi device does not change anything.
I'm using a CenturyLink approved Zyxel C3000Z router (my own).  I called CenturyLink technical support said they do not block any protocols related to VoiP.  To my best newbie ability I could not detect anything blocked in my router's web interface.
I am able to ping the OBi device from my router web interface.

I'm a newbie and suspect that it might come down to my inability up upgrade the firmware (where can I find the latest version to download to my PC and upload to the OBi202 via web interface?).  I've been looking hard for it.

My other theory is that the servers on Polycom/OBitalk side are down.

What do you experienced guys think?

Thanks,

Glaucia




Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 4939


« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2019, 05:15:41 am »

5921 is adequately up to date.  Whatever is causing your problem, it isn't the firmware version.

It is very rarely necessary to place an OBi in a router's DMZ.

Dial **9 222 222 222.  Do you reach the echo test number and hear "Welcome to Obitalk and the ....."?
« Last Edit: June 02, 2019, 05:19:46 am by drgeoff » Logged
glaucia1023
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2019, 09:38:32 am »

Drgeoff,

**9 222 222 222 was getting the same result: a fast busy signal, but...

After sheer insistence and at about my millionth attempt, I was able to add the device (did nothing different), EXCEPT, that I was trying to add via Chrome and Edge browser.  When I changed to IE, it did go through (can't remember if it was on the first attempt).  I think it was just luck and perhaps I caught the Polycon server up.

I am able to make/receive calls using GV as my provider. Yay.

I was also able to re add Anveo 911 service, but I'm not sure if it is working.  I don't want to dial 911 (I only have a certain number of 911 calls in the subscription).  When I dial the 933 test number directly, the dial tone never stops.  When I dial *1 933 OR **1 933, a busy signal is the result (slow then fast).  In my SP2 Anveo 911 basic info shows that Primary line for outgoing calls both phone lines are NOT selected.  For Incoming calls both phone lines are selected.  The option Use This Service for Emergency 911 Calls is selected.  On the Anveo website it shows that IP Phone/ATA Device is online.

Do I need to dig into advanced features to learn how the Anveo 911 call are being handled/routed?

Glaucia
« Last Edit: June 02, 2019, 09:47:14 am by glaucia1023 » Logged
azrobert
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 4039


« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2019, 11:16:14 am »

Use OBi Expert to make these config changes.
To make changes both boxes to the right of the Value must be unchecked.

Physical Interfaces Phone1/2 Port

DigitMap by default has rule 911

Immediately after 911 add |933

Check for a 911 rule. Remove or change it to the below.
Add the following to the beginning of the OutboundCallRoute:
{911|933:sp2},
Logged
glaucia1023
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2019, 01:19:42 pm »

Drgeoff,

The outbound call route shows the following already for both phone ports:

{911:sp2},{933:sp2},{([19]x?*(Mpli)):pp},{(<##:>):li},{(<#:>):ph2},{(<**70:>(Mli)):li},{(<**82:>(Mbt2)):bt2},{(<**81:>(Mbt)):bt},{(<**8:>(Mbt)):bt},{**0:aa},{***:aa2},{(<**1:>(Msp1)):sp1},{(<**2:>(Msp2)):sp2},{(<**3:>(Msp3)):sp3},{(<**4:>(Msp4)):sp4},{(<**9:>(Mpp)):pp},{(Mpli):pli}


This portion above {911:sp2},{933:sp2} you are suggesting:

it should be changed to {911|933:sp2}
OR
{911|933:sp2}should be added to the beginning, then it would show: {911|933:sp2}{911:sp2},{933:sp2}


Thanks.

Glaucia
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 4939


« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2019, 02:40:04 pm »

Drgeoff,

The outbound call route shows the following already for both phone ports:

{911:sp2},{933:sp2},{([19]x?*(Mpli)):pp},{(<##:>):li},{(<#:>):ph2},{(<**70:>(Mli)):li},{(<**82:>(Mbt2)):bt2},{(<**81:>(Mbt)):bt},{(<**8:>(Mbt)):bt},{**0:aa},{***:aa2},{(<**1:>(Msp1)):sp1},{(<**2:>(Msp2)):sp2},{(<**3:>(Msp3)):sp3},{(<**4:>(Msp4)):sp4},{(<**9:>(Mpp)):pp},{(Mpli):pli}


This portion above {911:sp2},{933:sp2} you are suggesting:

it should be changed to {911|933:sp2}
OR
{911|933:sp2}should be added to the beginning, then it would show: {911|933:sp2}{911:sp2},{933:sp2}


Thanks.

Glaucia
{911|933:sp2} is an alternative way of achieving exactly the same result as {911:sp2},{933:sp2}.   You don't need to make the addition to the OutboundCallRoute suggested by azrobert.  But do check what he wrote about the digit maps of the phone ports.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2019, 02:42:04 pm by drgeoff » Logged
glaucia1023
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2019, 12:27:53 pm »

This is way out of my league - I'm in healthcare, but I can be very persistent (especially when I'm trying to stick it to Xfinity and drop all of their services eventually).  I downloaded the OBi Device Admin Guide and spent my whole weekend trying to learn this VoiP business. I even downloaded the tutorial on Digit Maps and Call Routing, but haven't even opened it yet. It's like I'm learning a foreign language.  It will take time to be better at it to maybe solve my problems.

Can someone look at this and tell me, does this digit map look right?  I see that it has a 911 rule.  Does it have to have a 933 rule so I can test dial my Anveo 911 service?

Phone 1:
([1-9]x?*(Mpli)|[1-9]S9|[1-9][0-9]S9|911|**0|***|#|##|**70(Mli)|**8(Mbt)|**81(Mbt)|**82(Mbt2)|**1(Msp1)|**2(Msp2)|**3(Msp3)|**4(Msp4)|**9(Mpp)|(Mpli))
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 4939


« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2019, 12:56:20 pm »

Insert the 933 between the 911 and **0 parts

.... |911|933|**0|...
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC

Advertisement
Advertisement