News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

voice quality

Started by davidw1, July 22, 2019, 03:21:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidw1

HI,

I have been using google voice and the obi200 for a few years.  The quality has been good until just recently when we switched our ISP.  The new ISP seems much faster and better than our last one for everything except the VOIP.  For some reason the voice is very choppy, and cuts out a lot.

The strange thing is that if I login to google voice on my computer and make a call, it is fine.  The only time I have the problem is when I am using the home phone connected through the obi200.  I am wondering if there is some setting that may need to be changed, but I am not sure what.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
David

davidw1

Now it is getting worse.  It says"Connect Failed: No Response"  and I can't make calls.

davidw1

when I try to make a call I get a message that the number has not received a response from the service provider or something like that.

drgeoff

Quote from: davidw1 on August 02, 2019, 08:22:58 AM
when I try to make a call I get a message that the number has not received a response from the service provider or something like that.
Dial **9 222 222 222.  Can you reliably reach the echo test and, after the announcement, hear your voice coming back to you?

davidw1

Yes, I can hear my voice, but it is choppy.  I will try again later to see if it constantly works.  I have about 100 emails during the last day letting my know my OBI Device is Not registered, then letting me know it is Registered.

drgeoff

Quote from: davidw1 on August 04, 2019, 08:09:50 AM
Yes, I can hear my voice, but it is choppy.  I will try again later to see if it constantly works.  I have about 100 emails during the last day letting my know my OBI Device is Not registered, then letting me know it is Registered.