News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

(FIXED) GV CID outbound "UNKNOWN CALLER"

Started by Loughary, February 15, 2011, 04:19:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Loughary

Okay...I'm a newbie just received my OBi followed the steps to use GV and I can make and receive calls with no problems.  But when I place a call from my GV number throught the OBI from a standard phone attached the person I call gets a "UNKNOWN CALLER" as the CID is that normal?  

I'm wondering if there is a setting I missed in GV or OBi setup page?

Thanks
Dennis

RonR

Google Voice CallerID is controlled by Google, not by the Obi110.  Log into your Google Voice account and place a call from your browser.  I'm betting you'll see the same result with no Obi110 involved.

Loughary

@RonR  I tested it from my PC from a browser and you are correct it does display the same "UNKNOWN CALLER"  unfortunately that might be the deal breaker for the wife...not sure she' going to let me get read of the land-line if every time we call out with Google voice it's going to display unknown caller.  

That sucks because the call quality seems to be great...this device couldn't have been any easier to setup.

I was thinking it would at least display the number for outgoing calls.

Thanks.

RonR

You might try an email to Google to ask them to look into it.  Your CallerID should be on there.  There's clealy a technical problem with your particular number.

Loughary

Well...I did a little more testing and incoming calls caller ID with GV seems to work okay it basically displaying the number but with a +1 in front of the 11 digit number.  But all calls from my GV number shows up as a "Unknown Number" to the person I'm calling.