News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

OBi110 with Google Voice - Receiving calls from non-OBi callers

Started by curlysue, October 15, 2011, 10:08:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

curlysue

Hi,

I'm new to OBi, and while I have spent the last 2-1/2 hours reading about the OBi110 product, and watching a variety of tutorial videos, I remain uncertain regarding its ability to serve as a primary residential phone in the same manner as my OOMA Hub once did (until it crapped out yesterday, after 2 years of continuous use).

If I understand correctly, with an OBi110 configured with my existing Google Voice phone number, I can call any phone number in the U.S. (or Canada) whether they are in the OBiNetwork or not - meaning they do not have an OBi-device at their end of the phone call, and or they are NOT accessing the OBiNetwork through any OBi-related portal. 

With my existing broadband Internet connection, with its modem connected to the OBi110 and my analog phone connected to the OBi110, what about RECEIVING CALLS that dial my Google Voice phone number?  Will someone whom does not have an OBi-device (of any type, outside the OBiNetwork) be able to call my Google Voice number and my phone will ring and when I pick it up will I be able to talk with (meaning conversation) the individual whom called my Google Voice number?

I apologize for my ignorance here, but most everything I've read and watched talks about calling out, or connecting to others within the OBiNetwork, or connecting the OBi110 to an existing PSTN phone service.