April 10, 2021, 09:51:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Obi202 - Add Device is failing  (Read 2935 times)
wuerger00
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« on: July 18, 2020, 05:10:28 am »

I just unboxed by OBI202 and am trying to get it up and running. I have plugged it in and I know it is getting an IP address, because I can see the OBI on my router. However, it is failing to add on my OBI dashboard. When I dial * * 9 222 222 222, I get a message that "there is no service". I am also unable to access the admin web page of my obi202 "URL not found".

My router is an Eero, so I started adding the ports for TCP & UDP, but this is not helping either.

Is my OBI defective?
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 5243


« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 09:04:03 am »

I just unboxed by OBI202 and am trying to get it up and running. I have plugged it in and I know it is getting an IP address, because I can see the OBI on my router. However, it is failing to add on my OBI dashboard. When I dial * * 9 222 222 222, I get a message that "there is no service". I am also unable to access the admin web page of my obi202 "URL not found".

My router is an Eero, so I started adding the ports for TCP & UDP, but this is not helping either.

Is my OBI defective?
As of a few seconds ago the **9 222 222 222 echo test number was working for me.

Check that you have connected the INTERNET port (not the LAN port) of the OBi202 to your router.

If you have connected the 202's INTERNET port to your router it is normal that you cannot reach the onboard web server GUI. See the bottom of page 30 of https://www.obitalk.com/info/documents/admin_guide/OBiDeviceAdminGuide.pdf for how to enable access.  (Or use the 31 option on the next page to change the 202 from router mode to bridge mode.)

It is very rarely necessary to mess with ports in home routers.  "port opening" is not the same as "port forwarding" and anyway most of the ports that Obihai mention are outbound and I've yet to encounter a home router running stock firmware that has user controls for outbound.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2020, 09:07:52 am by drgeoff » Logged
eraserhed
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2021, 09:51:13 am »

I was unable to add my OBi202 to my dashboard even though I could successfully connect to the OBiTALK test number **9 222 222 222.  I tried all of the solutions here but still the **5 process would time out every time.  What finally worked for me was to change the 'OperationMode' parameter from 'Router' to 'Bridge' under 'Router Configuration > LAN Settings'.  Hopes this helps someone else and saves them some time.
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 5243


« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2021, 03:58:57 pm »

I was unable to add my OBi202 to my dashboard even though I could successfully connect to the OBiTALK test number **9 222 222 222.  I tried all of the solutions here but still the **5 process would time out every time.  What finally worked for me was to change the 'OperationMode' parameter from 'Router' to 'Bridge' under 'Router Configuration > LAN Settings'.  Hopes this helps someone else and saves them some time.
Nope, just coincidence.  Changing to bridge mode has no impact on the problem with the Obihai server which has been flakey for months.

If you truly believe that your change is a real fix you'll have no hesitation in repeating the following a few times.  Remove your Obi202 from your dashboard and try to add it back again.  Is it succeeding every time on the first attempt?
Logged
sp508
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 35


« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2021, 01:08:24 pm »

I was unable to add my OBi202 to my dashboard even though I could successfully connect to the OBiTALK test number **9 222 222 222.  I tried all of the solutions here but still the **5 process would time out every time.  What finally worked for me was to change the 'OperationMode' parameter from 'Router' to 'Bridge' under 'Router Configuration > LAN Settings'.  Hopes this helps someone else and saves them some time.

This solution worked for me as well twice!!!
Logged
LogHome
Newbie
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2021, 11:09:40 am »

I was unable to add my OBi202 to my dashboard even though I could successfully connect to the OBiTALK test number **9 222 222 222.  I tried all of the solutions here but still the **5 process would time out every time.  What finally worked for me was to change the 'OperationMode' parameter from 'Router' to 'Bridge' under 'Router Configuration > LAN Settings'.  Hopes this helps someone else and saves them some time.

This solution worked for me as well twice!!!

Are these setting under the Obi's IP or the router it's self?
Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 5243


« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2021, 11:39:03 am »

Nothing to lose by trying it but OBi200 does not have this option and there has been no indication of a different registration failure rate between 200s and 202s.
Logged
N7AS
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 496



« Reply #7 on: Today at 01:07:51 pm »

It seems that the Obitalk portal is down, so no one can add devices for now.
Logged

Grant N7AS
Prescott Valley, AZ
https://www.n7as.com

If you need to do some electrical work and can't find the breaker panel, simply kink the wire to stop the flow of electricity.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC

Advertisement
Advertisement