News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Unknown call on caller ID--came through Obi box?

Started by flex25, June 08, 2012, 08:31:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

flex25

Hi, newbie here.  I woke up this morning and my caller ID shows that a call came in at 5:59 am my time.  The Caller ID shows "UNKNOWN" with no phone number.  Since I was sleeping at the time, in a different room than the phone is in, I don't know if the phone rang and whether the attached answering machine picked up.  No message was recorded on the answering machine.

I checked my two service provider accounts, Callcentric on SP1 and GV on SP2, and the call does not show as having come through either of the accounts.  I have anonymous call blocking set on both accounts, and my GV on SP2 is set to go to GV voicemail only for all calls.  I never set any other phone number to forward to the Obi box or to either of these two phone service provider accounts.

Could the call have come through the Obi box itself, and if so, how can I block calls coming through the box.  I never intend to call people directly on the Obi box, and never intend to give out the Obi box number so that people can call me.  All calls will go through Callcentric or GV.  Other people having the ability to ring me by accessing the Obi box directly is a disturbing thought to me.  Or, did someone try to hack into my Obi setup?

Does anyone have a similar experience or know what would have caused this "UNKNOWN" call to register, and have a suggestion for blocking future calls of this nature (that a newbie would understand).  And, what whould I check to make sure the Obi account wasn't hacked?  I checked the Obitalk "Circle of Trust," and "Trusted Callers" in my account and there is no activity shown.  I added a PIN number for the Circle of Trust when I set up the Obi box.

It's an Obi 110, and I'm not using anything in the line port.

Thank you.

flex25