November 13, 2019, 10:06:54 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OBI200 not allowing to make calls?  (Read 700 times)
RIMDO
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« on: August 06, 2019, 07:50:03 pm »

Hello,

This is my 1st thread here.

I am just starting with Polycom OBI200. I did follow the steps using Gmail account. I did see 9 digit OBI NO. I am hearing dial tone from my phone.

I tried outgoing call with usual US 10 digit phone number. It says no response from service provider.

From my smart phone I called using OBI NO (9 digit) ===> no response

I called **9  OBI NO (9 digit) ===> no response

My OBI Dashboard shows

Sp1 --- GoogleVoice --- Connected
Sp2 --- GoogleVoice --- Connected

How do I make OBI200 to work?

Thanks for sharing.



Logged
drgeoff
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 4467


« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2019, 12:44:56 am »

The 9 digit OBi number has nothing to do with GV.

Your OBi cannot be reached by dialling its 9 digit number from a cellphone or POTS phone.

Dial **9 222 222 222. Do your hear "Welcome to Obitalk and ......"?

Dial tone is generated internally by your OBi. Even if you unplug the ethernet cable. Tells you nothing about your connection to GV.

Do you have a 10 digit GV number? If yes, what happens when you try to call that from your cellphone?
Logged
RIMDO
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2019, 06:27:24 pm »

Thanks for your reply/help.

I did re-create my GV#. I find OBITalk shows connected in dashboard. I am able to make/receive calls via OBI200 using GV# .

I want to replace my existing VOIP service with OBI200.

How do I port my VOIP/landline number to OBI200?

Google search says, it not possible to port directly, but need to transfer to mobile then GV.

What will happen to my OBI/GV # , I have now after porting?

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for sharing.
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 5787



« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2019, 01:27:56 am »

See my port here, for complete information about porting a land line number to Google Voice:

https://support.google.com/voice/thread/11101703?msgid=11440282
Logged

--Steve

Google Voice Forum Product Expert

https://support.google.com/voice/community
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC