News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Trying to use Break in feature and not having any luck

Started by Raff, May 07, 2012, 11:05:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Raff

I'm fairly new to the whole Obi experience but I did set mine up months ago and really like it. Since I have a POTS line I bought the 110 and have Google set up as the primary outgoing line.
Here is what I want to accomplish:

1) Ability to use the phone that is connected to the OBi to use the POTS line while its in use. Currently if someone is on the line and I want to join in I can't. I've tried using he **96 and no luck. I went to the expert OBi screen and enable BreakIn, and still no luck but here is a red ! mark next to it. Do I need to reboot the OBi to make this work?

2) If I'm sitting at the phone connected to the OBi and I want to make a call on the POTS line how do I do that? I tried the *8 feature but it seems not to work, is there a setting I need to enable?

Like I said in the beginning I'm new to this but I did get it up and running and it is a great product.

RonR

Quote from: Raff on May 07, 2012, 11:05:26 AM
1) Ability to use the phone that is connected to the OBi to use the POTS line while its in use. Currently if someone is on the line and I want to join in I can't. I've tried using he **96 and no luck.

*96 does not allow barging in on calls currently active on the LINE Port : Using Barge In

Quote from: Raff on May 07, 2012, 11:05:26 AM
2) If I'm sitting at the phone connected to the OBi and I want to make a call on the POTS line how do I do that? I tried the *8 feature but it seems not to work, is there a setting I need to enable?

To barge in on a call that is active on the LINE Port by a phone connected directly to the PSTN line, set:

Physical Interfaces -> PHONE Port -> EnableLINEPortBargeIn : (checked)

Pressing # wlll allow the OBi to bridge to the LINE Port when it's in use externally.

Raff