December 14, 2017, 04:43:14 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Alcazar Networks  (Read 30132 times)
paullarn
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« on: November 15, 2012, 12:49:36 pm »

Hi,

I am a newbie and like to know if someone can walk me through setup of obitalk using Alcazar Networks for in bound calls and google voice for outbound.

Thanks.

Logged
CoalMinerRetired
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 597


« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2012, 06:58:34 pm »

I don't have the answer.

But I did look at their website, and first impression is they are not at all user friendly. For example, to even see a FAQ page, they want you to fill out your name, email and other contact info, then they evidently get back to you. Looks the same for any support pages. They look much more like b-to-b (business to business) than residential focused.  You can't even tell with any certanity from their website if they are BYOD -- bring your own device, such as an Obi.

Contrast that with other providers, like CallCentric, Voip.ms, Anveo and others who have illustrated instructions or tutorials readily available on their websites, who directly answer questions on various forums (dslr), and it's a telling signal why not too many people on here mention using Alcazar.  I'm just saying.
Logged
Phillip
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 51



« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2013, 05:32:05 am »

Hi paullarn,

I don't know why you are setting up your OBi the way you are, but I suppose you have your reasons. My setup is almost the opposite of what you said you wanted to do, so I don't know if my experience will help you. But here goes.

My requirements have me using GV for both incoming and outgoing calls - except for 800 numbers. That's because GV has trouble with some of the 800 numbers that use older technology. So I set up Alcazar on sp2 to handle all outbound 800 calls. In this case, Alcazar is free and requires no registration either. So my all of my inbound and outbound calls are free.

I detailed my setup at :Alcazar setup problem and Peer RTP Address with extensive help from ianobi. I got the last little bit of info needed to make it work from infin8loop.

infin8loop also showed me how to set it up on a voice gateway too, in case I needed to change my configuration to make it work. If this helps, great. If not, do what I did. I called Alcazar and spoke with their tech support. Their website is lacking in configuration information, but they seemed very eager to help.

Hi,

I am a newbie and like to know if someone can walk me through setup of obitalk using Alcazar Networks for in bound calls and google voice for outbound.

Thanks.
Logged

Obi100, sp1 Anveo, sp2 Alcazar Networks Toll Free Terminal provider, Cisco Gigabit modem, TP-Link router/switch
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC