October 19, 2019, 06:03:43 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up OBi100 -> OBi110 linking to PSTN in UK  (Read 2789 times)
moojuice
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« on: April 27, 2013, 08:20:38 am »

Hi

I have an OBi100 in a workshop with a phone & bellbox plugged in. There is an ethernet cable link up the garden to the house with an OBI110 at the other end, which is also connected to the British Telecom (BT) PSTN.

All I want to be able to do is route all incomming calls from BT-> OBI110 -> OBi100 in the workshop, and to calls out from the workshop as if it was directly connected to the BT line. It's a phone extension over VoIP effectively.

I have followed the advice given here:
http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=5668.0

I have also read the BT SIN specifications and have set up the correct rings, tones and impedance to match the line.
http://www1.btwebworld.com/sinet/

Incoming calls are fine, the phone and bellbox in the workshop ring happily (having made up an RJ11 lead to goto A & B on a BT master socket).

Calling out works, however there is a significant delay. I dial the number, then wait about 10 seconds before the call is dialled by the OBi110 and is connected to the BT network and the line is connected. I have tried making my own digitmap along the lines of:
(0[1-3]xxxxxxxxxS0|<023>[8-9]xxxxxxxS0|0800xxxxxxxS0|0845xxxxxxxS0|0870xxxxxxxS0|0844xxxxxxxS0|999S0|112S0|17070S0|1xxxS0|xx.)

for all the commonly dialled patterns, but I still get a delay before the OBi110 dials out.

How can I fudge the digitmaps so that as soon as I lift the handset, it connects my workshop phone to the BT network, so that any DTMF tones from the workshop phone are sent directly to the BT network (meaning the workshop phone is doing the dialing, and not the OBI110)? I don't need to filter/block any numbers, nor do I need to route numbers to other VoIP/SIP/GV services.

As this line is used by my father, I'd also prefer it if I didn't have to dial **1 etc before dialing out, just to keep it simple for him. Any suggestions?
Logged
Shale
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1061


« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2013, 08:56:16 am »

I am sure the more knowledgeable people will figure it out, but I wonder if the strings you are describing are in the OBi100 or OBi110.

I also wonder if the solution will involve a <:#> or some such.
Logged
ianobi
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 1831


« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2013, 09:16:04 am »

moojuice,

This should do what you want:

http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=2459.msg33156#msg33156

It was designed for a remote extension off a PBX, but all the functions are the same. When you lift the handset in your shed you should get British Telecom dial tone.
Logged
moojuice
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2013, 09:41:42 am »

Wow, thank you ianobi. That's exactly what I needed. Setting the digitmap on the phone port of the workshop phone to (<:@192.168.1.31:5060>) connects the line directly to BT  Grin  There is just a short half second clunk as the line changes from Obi dialtone to BT's. That'll do nicely for me!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC