News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Caller ID format

Started by jcrouch, June 01, 2013, 05:17:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jcrouch

Hi all,

I just ditched Insight Communications' $40/mo VoIP service for an OBi100 setup using Google Voice.

On incoming calls my caller ID looks like this:

Thats it, just 11 digits. Can I format that number to at least have dashes in the usual places? (e.g. 1-222-333-4444)

Would this be on the OBi side or Google Voice? Also is there the possibility of getting the name of the caller too?

Im new to all this so forgive me if this is a really simple thing and its on a menu somewhere.

Thanks,

Jeremy

N7AS

This is usually a function of the phone. My cordless phones format the number with dashes, but my IP phone does not. Ypu may need to replace your phone with another.
Grant N7AS
Prescott Valley, AZ
https://www.n7as.com

A journeyman electrician sent his apprentice with a 5-gallon bucket and was told to put the ends of the service drop in the bucket and fill it with volts. He was there all day.

jcrouch

Thanks N7AS,

Im not sure though... I still have older call history on my cordless phone and when I go back through the calls you can see where the caller id format changes from:

John Smith
222-333-4444

to

I didn't change anything on my handsets when I switched over to the OBi100.

I did some research last night and answered part of my question, the name for the caller. I found that you need a separate CNAME service to lookup the names from a database. Possible to do with my setup, but complicated and not free, so I will live without it.

But the dashes in the number would be nice. I guess whatever CNAM service Insight was using probably was formatting the number for me too.

Thanks again,

Jeremy

N7AS

This is what I do to get CNAN with GV,,,