December 12, 2017, 01:47:40 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OBI100 blinking red, nothing responds  (Read 6892 times)
jsip
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« on: October 29, 2013, 08:17:52 pm »

Hi,
I have an obi100 unit which worked great. Then yesterday, while on the phone it cut out.
I tried a factory reset, no luck, I tried to update the firmware, no luck.

The unit flashes green for a moment, then it starts flashing red rapidly, then it goes back to green, then it's flashing green then red slowly, then it starts the process over.

What can be done?
Logged
Shale
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1061


« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2013, 08:56:03 pm »

http://www.obihai.com/OBiAdminGuide.htm

Power light Flashing Orange: The OBi is upgrading. DO NOT remove power!

I don't see anything that matches what you describe. You might try a factory reset.



Logged
jsip
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2013, 04:52:53 am »

Well, would that i could.

Like I said earlier, I tried the factory reset. I had the unit on, all lines plugged in. Pressed and held the reset button for at least 30 seconds and nothing changed.
Unplugged ethernet cable, pressed reset button, nothing changed
unplugged phone line, pressed reset button, nothing changed.
Logged
azrobert
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3196


« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2013, 09:35:42 am »

A similar thing happened to my OBi110 over 2 years ago. I don't remember the exact symptoms, but it was looping like yours. I tried everything you did without success, but when I reconnected it to the internet it magically fixed itself. My OBi110 obviously had a much older firmware and I was trying to update the configuration when this happened. I doubt reconnecting to the internet will help you, but it's worth a shot.
Logged
jsip
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2013, 10:16:39 am »

Thanks rob,
You said to reconnect it to the internet? Are you saying you pulled the Ethernet from it and voila, it was fixed when you reconnected? Or did you disconnect it from the internet via software? If so, how?
Logged
azrobert
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3196


« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2013, 02:13:35 pm »

The sequence of events was something like this:

Power re-cycle. Nothing.
Reset. Nothing.
Removed phone cord and ethernet cable and did another reset. Nothing.
Re-connected the ethernet cable and the looping stopped.
Logged on to the OBi110 and the configuration was intact, so the resets failed.
Logged
Lavarock7
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 480



« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2013, 04:03:41 pm »

Perhaps the Obitalk configuration was sent down to the Obi when the internet connection was put back on.

I would go to Obitalk and delete the device, then disconnect all cables but power from the Obi and do the hard reset.

Then reconnect the obi to your internet and login and look at the configs. If there are still entries there, I would try the USE DEFAULTS ONLY buttons at the bottom of the pages.

Then I would go to Obitalk and add the device.


Logged

My websites: Kona Coffee: http://ItsKona.Com and Web Hosting: http://PlanetAloha.Info
A simplified Voip explanation: http://voip.planet-aloha.com
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC