News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

How does SipSorcery work with GV

Started by simpleAnswers, February 21, 2014, 05:27:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

simpleAnswers

Ok, I have heard Sipsorcery suggested as the fix for the GV XMPP shutdown. Like some users here I am fairly new to the SIP protocol and it took me a while to try to figure out why I would be paying them 70$ a year.

Here is what I understand about it so far and I might need some blanks filled in

To Use GV on Sipsorcery I must have a voip service that gives me a DID.
Then all I am really doing with sipsorcery is to initiate calls that don't spoof CallerID but rather connects to GV and actually initiates the call using the websites callback feature. Is this correct?

So for an outbound call, Sipsorcery takes the dialed number, then it goes to google voice and sets up a callback using my voip DID. GV then calls the DID number and connects to the dialed number. Which means I don't pay for outgoing calls as they are routed through GV and only cost is receiving calls on my incoming DID (if receiving isn't free)

For incoming calls, GV forwards to the DID without a need for a callback.

Isn't the above is actually how the Obi works with GV for outgoing calls except my understanding is the Obi uses XMPP with Google chat but apparently sipsorcery doesnt initiate callbacks via XMPP.

Can anyone chime in and let me know if the above is correct

So at the very least if I had say; a CallCentric DID, would that be all I needed to keep using GV post XMPP if I had SipSorcery?

giqcass

Any DID will work, Callcentric is what I'm using.