News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Multiple OBI devices and multiple GV / SIP in single phone system

Started by cijlevy, May 04, 2011, 06:00:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cijlevy

I'm a bit of a Newbie and spent a number of hours searching for solutions/answers without luck.

I have two OBI 110's - (happy to purchase more)

I have 2 Google Voice (GV) accounts

I intend to purchase 2 SIP #s

I am connecting both of my Obi Talk devices into a telephone system with 4 phones using the phone connection - when a single call to one of my GV #s comes in the auto attendant answers with a selection of extensions, I understand Google voice has up to two channels but GV doesn't allow forwarding to a second GV number so I intend to set up a SIP # as the secondary service provider so that it can forward to that which I will set up as the second service provider on the same box.  With a second SIP # I will set up the second OBI box which now had the second GV number as primary and the second SIP# as secondary.

The questions are:

1) When a user picks up a phone on the phone system will it search for an available outgoing line automatically?  Is this something I rather need to configure on the phone system?

2) Assuming the phones will search for a free line automatically, can two outgoing calls be made on a single Obi device or do I need to add more Obi devices to accommodate more then 2 outgoing calls?

3) Can two incoming calls come in on the same Obi device and thus give me up to 4 incoming calls assuming I have the 2 GV #s and two SIP #s?

I suspect that these are basic questions, I apologize for that.

Also if anyone seeing this configuration can suggest an easier method I would be of course be pleased as well.

Thanks for the help!

RonR