News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Google voice does not support message waiting indicator anymore?

Started by markintheforum, November 16, 2014, 04:12:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

markintheforum

Hi, I'm new with Obi202.  Got it to use with Google Voice, but I am very surprised that GV does not set visual message waiting indicator (LED on my phone) / stutter tone with voice mail.  The documentation that I've searched for from obihai online suggests indicates that it does, but some posts seem to indicate not this documentation is actually not correct anymore since Obi officially started supporting GV again...

Can someone confirm definitively (or reasonably so) that setting the message light on your phone anymore with Obi?  Every phone service I've ever had with voicemail supports this so this is a big disappointment to me.

Thanks.

Mango

This feature was removed in a recent firmware release.  Unfortunately, there is no way to downgrade your current firmware revision.

markintheforum

Thank you for the explanation / confirmation.  I guess I'll check out some other providers before I return this...

MLD100

Is there any plan to restore support for the message waiting indicator?   I view it as a core feature that should be supported.  I'm really not happy that it has gone away with no advanced warning.  My obitalk was working just fine and I would not have taken the upgrade if I had known this.
Thank you

zorlac

Quote from: MLD100 on January 28, 2015, 10:02:07 AM
Is there any plan to restore support for the message waiting indicator?   I view it as a core feature that should be supported.  I'm really not happy that it has gone away.
Know how you feel, the old obi firmware flashed a little green led on our kitchen phone when we had GV voicemail, I really miss that. :'( I put our GV #'s into speed dial slots so 3# will get me to my voicemail quick.

BigJim_McD