News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

GV porting questions

Started by Howard687, November 03, 2014, 02:33:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Howard687

I am a complete OBI/SIP novice but am looking to buy an OBI 200. I have been reading tutorials, faq's, and the forum but am still somewhat confused.  I currently have a landline, 2 cell phones, and a GV account.  The GV number is different from the other 3; i.e I did not port an existing number when setting up the GV account.

My understanding is that if I configure the OBI with my current GV account, then my home phones will ring when the GV number is called.  And if the land line number is called, that won't ring anywhere.  But that is a problem because most callers know our land line number and only some know our GV number.  Is there a configuration that says if either the land line number or GV number is called, the call will, via OBI, ring our home phones?  We just have one home phone line.  Would we want to setup another GV account, porting our land line to that account, and configuring that GV account on the OBI as well?

thanks in advance

SteveInWA

Hi Howard:

Typical for telephony stuff, there are several different approaches you can take, depending on the overall goal you have in mind.

The OBi devices can act as Google Voice forwarding "phones", pretending to be Google Chat clients.  So yes, when someone calls your GV number, it will ring whatever forwarding phones you have added and check-marked on this page:

https://www.google.com/voice#phones

If you add Google Chat as one of the forwarding destinations, your OBi-attached analog telephone (for example, a cordless or corded touch-tone phone) will ring.