December 17, 2017, 09:18:40 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Moto 3 WiFi calling with Android app  (Read 32910 times)
Rustifer
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


« on: December 12, 2014, 06:20:15 pm »

 Obi110 and GV, I can place calls on the Moto G via wifi app. But unable to receive calls.
It is, however, a used unactivated phone. So, no number is associated with this phone.
Would there be any sort of work around for this issue ? For the time being, this will only
be used via wifi.
Logged
azrobert
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3204


« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2014, 06:49:31 pm »

You don't need an activated phone to receive calls over WiFi.
How are you sending calls to it?

If you want to send inbound GV call to OBiON assuming GV is defined on SP1 make the following change:

Voice Services -> SP1 Service ->X_InboundCallRoute:
ph,pp(290123456)

Change 290123456 to the OBi number of your OBiON App.
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3973



« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2014, 06:55:33 pm »

Instead of OBion, use the Google Hangouts app, from the Google Play Store.

Hangouts can both receive and make telephone calls over WiFi, using your Google Voice telephone number.  This is entirely independent of anything OBi-related.
Logged

Rustifer
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2014, 09:35:32 am »

If you want to send inbound GV call to OBiON assuming GV is defined on SP1 make the following change:

Voice Services -> SP1 Service ->X_InboundCallRoute:
ph,pp(290123456)

Change 290123456 to the OBi number of your OBiON App.

 azrobert, can you walk me through this procedure ? can't locate voice services.


Going to look into google hangouts as well. Thanks SteveInWA
Logged
azrobert
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3204


« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2014, 11:03:35 am »

I assume you are using OBiTalk to configure your OBi and not the local interface.
Your need to use OBi Expert.

From the OBiTalk dashboard click Edit Profile on the left column.
At the bottom of the page check "Enable Obi Expert..."
Click Submit Query.
Now you can go directly to OBi Expert from the dashboard.

Click Obi Dashboard.
On the right of your OBixxx is an icon with a red E.
Click on it to enter OBi Expert.

To navigate click on the titles with the +
Then click on a sub-title
Click on Voice Services
Then click SP1 Service
There are 2 boxes to the right of X_InboundCallRoute
To change a setting uncheck the box under ObiTalk Setting
Then uncheck the box under Device Default
Now change the setting
Click Submit at the bottom of the page.
OBiTalk will download the configuration changes to the OBi and reboot it.
Logged
Rustifer
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2014, 11:59:05 am »

Quote
Click Obi Dashboard.
On the right of your OBixxx is an icon with a red E.
Click on it to enter OBi Expert.

To navigate click on the titles with the +
Then click on a sub-title
Click on Voice Services
Then click SP1 Service
There are 2 boxes to the right of X_InboundCallRoute
To change a setting uncheck the box under ObiTalk Setting
Then uncheck the box under Device Default

I am with you to this point.

I guess I now, I enter my Obitalk number in the field underneath "Value".

Am I to leave the "ph" in the field, and add the number to it ? Or remove the ph, from the field ?
Logged
Rustifer
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2014, 01:26:34 pm »

Tried both ways. Still no incoming calls. Plus, the home phone doesn't work. Back to default settings. Now, the home phone works.

Gonna give the GV app a shot. Maybe I can get incoming that way.
Logged
azrobert
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3204


« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2014, 02:25:56 pm »

See my 1st reply.

Voice Services -> SP1 Service ->X_InboundCallRoute:
ph,pp(290123456)
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3973



« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2014, 03:59:02 pm »

If all you care about is making or receiving phone calls on your Moto phone, there isn't any point to trying to go through the OBion and OBi.  The easier, more direct route is to use Google Hangouts directly.  It's completely independent of anything related to using the OBi products.
Logged

Rustifer
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2014, 05:27:01 pm »

That's all I care about, for now, Steve.  Would I be right in assuming I would need to create a new Google account to use Google Hangouts, with the phone ? 

The one I am using now works on the OBi 110 via Google Voice. And like it just the way it is.
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3973



« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2014, 05:40:00 pm »

No, you can use the same Google Voice account with Hangouts.  Background:

Google Voice and Hangouts are two complementary services, that started out from different directions, and are now (gradualy, in stages) being merged into one user interface.  GV started out as an inbound telephone call forwarding service that worked only over the telephone networks, not VoIP.

Originally, a companion service, Chat, was used to enable users to make and receive telephone calls using their GV number's caller ID, but over the internet (VoIP).  OBi devices emulate the Chat protocol to do this.

Now, the Chat service and apps are obsolete, and are being replaced by Hangouts.  Hangouts was originally a peer-to-peer chat service like Skype's similar origin.  It has added many features since then, including telephone calling, SMS and MMS texting, etc.  Google is migrating many of GV's features to Hangouts.

The Hangouts service will use your existing GV phone number, independently of OBi or any other GV feature, to make and receive phone calls over VoIP.  You can use it on a laptop or desktop web browser, or on a Android or iOS smartphone using the Hangouts mobile apps.  Simply sign in to Hangouts using your same Google ID as used for GV.  This will have no effect at all on the operation of your OBi and its GV number; calls will ring at both the OBi and on any Hangouts client app, as long as you are signed in.

Logged

Rustifer
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2014, 07:51:25 pm »

Great Steve. Works just as you said.
Logged
Rustifer
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 52


« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2014, 07:53:33 pm »

Another question. When calling to the GV hangout, is there a ring tone that gan be used ?
All is get is a flashing light and a vibrating alert.
Logged
SteveInWA
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 3973



« Reply #13 on: December 14, 2014, 07:58:05 pm »

Do you mean that your Android phone doesn't emit a sound when a Hangouts call comes in?  It should.  You should be able to go into the app's settings to tweak this.

Since this has veered into Hangouts-specific issues, you'll probably get better support by posting over on the Hangouts help forum, where one of my fellow contributors or I will see it and try to assist.  BTW, there appears to be a newly-introduced bug, whereby the vibration can't be disabled.  I'm sure the developer will get that fixed shortly.

See my signature below for the link to the forum.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC