News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

OBi110 + DIR-655 + SB6120 + Comcast = Is this OK for OBi?

Started by SkOrPn, June 02, 2011, 07:00:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SkOrPn

Hello, OBi noob here. I would like to purchase this OBi110 tonight if I can but after reading and reading all day and night last night I am still on the fence if I should make this small investment. I see that its on sale at Amazon for $49.99, so Id like to pull the trigger immediately, but only if it has already been proven to work with my setup or very similar to mine.

Im in Albuquerque NM on Blast 16/2, with 4 downstream bonded channels and only one upstream channel. I have a "Sipgate One" account and also a "Google Voice" account, gmail, talk chat etc etc. I also have an Android phone the T-Mobile Vibrant but do NOT have an active voice service on it at the present time. I only have a data plan currently on it. Google voice works wonderfully on my Vibrant via wifi and also works great on my computer.

My setup:
Service: Comcast Blast 16/2
Modem: Motorola SB6120, 4 down channels, 1 Up channel
Router: D-Link DIR-655, A4, FW 1.35NA

http://results.speedtest.comcast.net/result/69745252.png

Of course that speedtest result is powerboost influenced but I get that identical result 24/7 no matter what day it is. Speed slightly goes down a wee bit with further test servers of course but latency increases exponentially into tripple digits by the time Im several thousand miles away.