News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

OBI for small business

Started by kabbalah, April 17, 2015, 12:18:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kabbalah

Hi guys,

I am a small business owner, moving to a new office location.
I am currently doing research but I'm still not completely clear whether OBI is the right choice for me or if my needs are even possible.

So let me tell you what I would need:

1. Support for two google voice accounts (2 lines)
2. Capable of having 5 extensions (5 desk locations)
3. Able to work with a SIP compliant door box (intercom)

Are these things even possible? If it is, what OBI hardware would I need to buy?

I would greatly appreciate any answers.

NoHomePhone

!) It's the only ATA that supports google voice accounts, Pick the right OBI model though, the ITSP 30x series does not support google voice.

2) Extensions, The OBi is not a PBX if you want extensions you can setup freeswitch or asterisk on a micro computer raspberrypi, cubieboard, etc,. or an old linux desktop.  The OBi could become used in multiple ways either as an entrance to your pbx, or as each extension (multiple obis)
A) You would have 1 OBi with the PBX controlling extensions, each person would then need a software client and headset to talk through their computer or cellphone or tablet
B) You can setup a PBX and each person could have their own OBi with phonejack and desk phone, which they could forward calls to and from the PBX