October 19, 2019, 06:04:57 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
News:
 
   Forum Home   Search Login Register OBiTALK  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up skype?  (Read 9721 times)
AndrewG
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« on: June 08, 2011, 01:46:13 am »

Hi
I would like to setup skype for one of my generic service providers. After speaking to tech support I guess I need to enter 3 things.

1.       Proxy Server
2.       username
3.       password

This is what I entered in:
 proxy server: sip.skype.com
 Username: just my screen name(not sure if that's the proper format)
And password:which I put my password in!

Can anyone help me?
Logged
jimates
OBi110 Beta Testers
***
Posts: 1610


« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2011, 04:12:24 am »

I think Skype still requires software running on a computer to interact between your Skype client (running on the same computer) and a compatible phone adapter. All indications are this is still beta for Skype. Not much info available for it.
Logged
QBZappy
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 2317



« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2011, 04:34:37 am »

AndrewG

Hi, look  here. At least two people seem to have set it up. shap explains how he setup his Skype+OBi. It requires a computer to run Skype and SiptoSIS software. One special mention, computer speakers and mike seem to be active.

when using SIptoSIS is there a way to make the computer not ring along with the telephone attached to Obi.when you answer the call using telephone, computer speaker and mic also get turned on.

http://www.obitalk.com/forum/index.php?topic=701.msg0;topicseen#new
--------------------
Reading your post a second time, I get the impression you bought a Skype SIP account. Is that correct?

"A caveat though: all devices we have come across that convert an internet connection to a phone line have exhibited only outbound calling ability" (Chris K. Skype Connect Technical Support)

I found this. You might try it.:
After subscribe they gave an account number like 9905xxxxxxxxxx, (14 digits) and a password. this long number should be posted on the Authentication name, user name and display name boxes.
Domain sip.skype.com
Proxy server address : sip.skype.com
registrar server: sip.skype.com
stun: stun.skype.com

This Skype quick guide might help. It is for setting up on a PBX, however I think some of the info might be applicable for ATA's as well.
http://download.skype.com/share/business/guides/skype-connect-quick-start-guide.pdf
« Last Edit: June 08, 2011, 05:59:34 am by QBZappy » Logged

Owner of the 1st OBi110/100 units in service in Canada & South America. 1st OBi202 on my street. 1st OBi1032 in Montreal.
AndrewG
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2011, 11:11:12 pm »

Hey

No I don't have a sip account yet. I just got a responce from skype and they said this:

You need to complete the SIP configuration and allocate a Channel and Fund it, if you want to make and receive calls.  The 9905 SIP account number would be the User in the OBI configuration.  This 9905 number will be displayed after you setup your SIP Profile.  If you are having any problems, please contact us via your Skype Manager.  Login to your Manager and in the top right hand corner, Click the Chat button to talk to our very experienced engineers to answer your questions.
 
You should also read the User/Manager Guides for SIP and Skype Manager to get everything setup.  The links are here:
http://download.skype.com/share/business/guides/skype-manager-user-guide.pdf
https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA10572/How-do-I-manage-SIP-Profiles;jsessionid=19BB2F270138A2902989CBF34720125A
http://download.skype.com/share/business/guides/skype-connect-quick-start-guide.pdf
 
If you have any additional technical questions please reply to this e-mail
or you can chat with us by signing into your Skype Manager at
https://login.skype.com/bcp/login and clicking "chat support" in the upper
right corner of that screen.

If you have sales related questions please contact our sales department at http://direct.skype.com
Logged
AndrewG
Newbie
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2011, 11:22:46 pm »

QBZappy,

It sounds like you and skype are suggesting the same thing. Will this work with my obi110?
Logged
yhfung
OBi110 Beta Testers
***
Posts: 205



« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2011, 12:51:46 am »

As far as I know, you may need the service of "Skype for SIP" from Skype company.

YH
Logged

Hong Kong and China OBi Users Group
www.telecom-cafe.com
QBZappy
Hero Member & Beta Tester
*****
Posts: 2317



« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2011, 05:01:56 am »

AndrewG,

I understand the appeal of trying to connect OBi+Skype. The risk is that even if you get the OBi  to register with Skype it may only be able to make outgoing calls. I quoted a post from a Skype employee mentioning this in my previous post. Having said this, no one as far as I know has mentioned having tried a Skype Sip account. If you do decide to set up a Skype sip acct you will be the first to document it in this forum.

QBZappy,
Will this work with my obi110?

It has the possibility of working, however?

I did some research on this topic yesterday. This is the impression I got. The combination of ATA+Skype Sip acct = hit or miss. I saw succesful implentation, outgoing calls only, and others still trying to figure out how to set it up. Best for you to do your own research and decide for yourself. Let us know how it goes. You might want to go on the Skype forum and do some reading there.

I'm surprised no one else with a Skype Sip account has offered their experience.
Logged

Owner of the 1st OBi110/100 units in service in Canada & South America. 1st OBi202 on my street. 1st OBi1032 in Montreal.
nedako
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2012, 09:25:49 am »

I setup Skype SIP using Sype connect in the past - not with an Obihai device but with an SIP profile on an Android phone. The call quality was not great. You are required to use Skype Manager and setup a SIP profile. There is a monthly cost for a SIP profile ($7 US) and you are then calls are billed at the rate here - http://download.skype.com/share/business/guides/skype-connect-rates.pdf. I am in Canada and decided to use a Freephoneline account along with my Google Voice account rather than the Skype approach.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC