News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

request help configuring obi110 line port for DR POTS line

Started by LPDR, June 01, 2015, 06:27:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LPDR

Hi,

I'm new to writing in this forum but have been reading it for quite a while. I'm hoping someone can help with the problem I'm having.

I'm in the Dominican Republic and am using an OBi110 2.8 1.3.0-2824. I have a cordless phone from the US plugged into the phone port and have SP1 and SP2 configured. VoIP calls work fine, in and out. When we needed to make or receive a POTS call, I would plug the phone into the Claro DSL wall jack with a filter.

Everything worked fine like that. But now we're using both VoIP and the POTS so I've been trying to configure the OBi110's line port. I've experimented with many setting but I can't make or receive a call with the line port. Here are some details after putting the line port back to default settings and connecting the line port to the wall jack with a DSL filter:

1) Line Port Status shows State is Ringing even though there's no incoming call.

2) Line Port Status shows TipRingVoltage fluctuating between -71 and +74 V every fraction of a second.

3) dialing straight out results in a busy signal.

4) dialing #results in silence and then a disconnect sound following by a dial tone. Further dialing just results in a dial tone.

5) calls to the POTS number do not ring the ATA. The caller hears several rings and then voicemail.

6) Upon powering off the ATA but leaving all other connections as is, both incoming and outgoing POTS calls are handled as expected.

I haven't tried the line port of this ATA in other countries so the only reference point I have is that #6 indicates that the phone-ATA-filter-wall connection is correct and all components are functional aside from the ATA.

Any suggestions on how to configure the line port or determine if it is defective?

Thanks.