News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Advice on Setting Up Obi "network"

Started by fishfarmer, October 24, 2015, 07:39:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fishfarmer

Hello

I'm new to Obihai and I need some thoughts on best way to set up some Obi service.

I live in US and my brother lives in Brasil. If i would buy 2 Obi200s and configure them with GV or Voipo and add 2 Obi1022s phones could we talk in HD? Or would we each need one of the Obi5vs to talk HD?

There is no way of dialing direct to devices if we are not on the same network is there?

Any thoughts on a cheaper way to communicate in HD?

Thanks

ianobi

The minimum you need for wideband speech (aka "HD Speech) are two IP Phones that allow the use of a wideband CODEC such as G722, and an end to end transmission path that allows  use of that same CODEC throughout. You could use:

OBi1022 ----- sip2sip ------ OBi1022

sip2sip calls are free and support G722.

Of course, this is limited as it is just a point to point system. However you can set up other voip providers such as GV or Callcentric / voip.ms etc on your OBi1022. Then the OBi1022 decides which service to use depending on what digits you dial, or you can set up a speed dial to dial your brother that only uses sip2sip or other G722 voip provider.

The problem here is IP phones plug directly into the internet via your router. They do not connect to the normal house phone wiring. There are ways around this, but things can get complicated unless you are ok with the house phones being on a separate system to the IP phones.

fishfarmer

Thanks for the advice ianobi.

Fishfarmer

drgeoff

If you just want to call in HD between the two OBi10x2 phones,  you don't need the 202s or any other ATA. Nor do you need any other Service Provider beyond the free Obitalk one that is enabled by default.

ianobi