News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

obi 200 I cannot make outgoing call but was receiving incoming calls.

Started by playmaker88, December 03, 2015, 06:01:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

playmaker88

I have checked everything that I can think of but have not been successful in fixing the phone. 

I have an Obi 200 device that I have been using with google voice for about 5 months without any problems.  Over the last 4 days, I cannot make any outgoing calls.  The phone rings and works fine on incoming calls. 

Setup: The obi is working through google voice using Att router with uverse internet service.

When I pick up the phone to dial, I receive a dial tone.  I begin dialing and it seems that the numbers are not registering to the phone line since there is no change in the dial tone.  When I complete the number there is a short click and dialtone continues but my number has been reset back to blank.

I have attempted to reboot the router.  I have unplugged the obi device.  My phone is connected directly to the obi device

I can dial out from within gmail using google voice and also through the google voice application.  I think this eliminates that it is google voice issue. 

I have deleted the Obi device as SP1 and reinstalled the device in the portal. All of the light are green and only the center light is flickering.  The portal shows the device as connected and is green.

Anyone have any ideas?

Update:  I have factory reset the obi device but I am unable to complete the set up again because I cannot dial a number in the initial setup.

SteveInWA

It seems that you have a bad telephone and/or telephone cord.  Replace them both and see what happens.

drgeoff

The phone is the most likely culprit.  If you can hear and be heard on incoming calls, that is a very strong indicator that the phone cord is OK.