News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Freephoneline.ca and obi200 problems

Started by Popol, December 04, 2015, 10:21:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Popol

Hi everyone,

This is my first time setting up VOIP and I'm having some problems.  Spend many hours reading through the forums and trying many different things.

I have a OBI200 and I bought an unlock key from freephoneline.ca.

I tried setting up my connection through OBITalk (manually changing the ringtone voltage and frequency to 52/90) and I also tried setting it up manually through the web interface (followed these instructions: freephonelinesetup.blogspot.ca/2013/04/freephonelineca-config-info-obihai-obi.html).

Here are all the symptoms/problems  I encounter:

1. Whenever I choose to reboot the device, it looses the connection to the handset.  I can still access OBITalk or the device's web interface but the phone is dead.  The only way to get it to see the phone again is to remove the power to the obi200 for at least a minute and connect it again.  Even that won't work every now and then. Sometimes I can't get it to see the handset anymore and I perform a factory reset and start from the beggining.

2. When I get it to work outgoing calls seem to work just fine. But I have a strange problem with incoming calls:  Let's say I call to my FPL number from my current landline (LL).  In my LL handset I'll hear it ring once and then I'll hear a 'click' about 4-5 times per second. On my FPL handset I'll only hear about half a ring.  When I pickup the FPL handset, I only hear some kind of 'on hold' music on my LL handset and a dial tone on my FPL handset.  If I flash my FPL handset I get a normal communication between both handset.  If I hang up the FPL handset first I'll keep hearing the clicking sound on the LL handset, seemingly keeping the communcation up for as long as I want.