News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Outgoing call routing questions

Started by Marty.ba.calif.usa, July 10, 2016, 10:26:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marty.ba.calif.usa

I have an Obi200 which I've been using for a few years with no problems, and I've done a lot of reading of technical documentation, but there are still a few things that don't make sense.  My main number is ported to a standard free Anveo plan with unlimited incoming minutes, E911, and no outgoing plan.  This is SP2.  I've also had a Voip.ms account for outgoing calls, on SP1.  I added Google Voice to SP3, and have been using it for outgoing calls and international LD, on SP3.

So, I set it up using Obitalk, and checked GV for outgoing calls, Anveo for 911, and all's well. However...  I still have funds with Voip.ms, and I thought I'd like to use it for outgoing US calls (especially toll free) so I can have my own callerID instead of GV.

I looked over the configurations for both Obitalk advanced, and the Obi200 configure pages, and it seems like the outbound call route for the Phone 1 physical interface is where the call routing is set.  This string starts with "{911:sp2},{933:sp2}, ...", which makes sense.  So, as an initial test, I entered my cell phone number at the beginning, directed to sp1, like so (zeros replace actual number:  "{0000000000:sp1}, (911:sp2}, ...".  I tried this both for Obitalk and the Obi200 setting, but neither one caused the call to go to sp1. UPDATE: adding a 1 before the number caused it to work correctly.

I see a lot of discussion on digimaps, etc, but I don't see where to put them. I understand the format pretty well (I've had lots of experience with programming, regular expressions, linux, etc), although I'm still hazy on the nomenclature of the device.