News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Can I use Dialpad and Google Voice on a OBi1032?

Started by roomservicetaco, December 15, 2016, 07:15:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

roomservicetaco

I'm brand new to OBi and to VOIP to a certain extent.

I have recently signed up for Dialpad VOIP service and successfully run their Android and Desktop (softphone) apps for outbound and inbound calls.

I bought an OBi1032 at their recommendation so that I could have a desktop phone as well. Dialpad has an automated configuration which I used and to set up the OBi for ib and ob calls via the Dialpad service.  That seems to be working fine.

My question is:  I also have 2 Google Voice accounts.  Since the OBi is a 4 line phone, am I able to configure Dialpad for line 1, GV1 for line 2, and GV2 for line 3?   If so, how?

Thanks.

roomservicetaco

OK, I found this FAQ on OBiTalk:

https://www.obitalk.com/info/faq/About-the-OBi/How-many-VoIP-SP

So I know what I'm asking can be done (1 Dialpad account plus 2 GV accounts), but still not sure how to configure the GV accounts so that they go to Line 2 and Line 3 without interfering with Line 1.

SteveInWA

It depends on whether Dialpad has taken over control of the configuration of your OBi phone (locked you out of it), or if "automated configuration" you used simply filled in their credentials and other settings for one of the six (not four) Service Provider slots (SP1 through SP6).

If you added the 1032 to your own OBiTALK web portal account:  https://www.obitalk.com/obinet/pg/obhdev

then, click on the 1032 on that page, and then click on the desired SPx, and it will walk you through configuring your Google Voice number for that line.

Here are my (lengthy but comprehensive) instructions on using GV with an OBi product.  The instructions were written for an OBi ATA, not IP phone, but the process is essentially the same: