News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Calling out on line port not working from SP

Started by rjdyck, January 12, 2017, 04:59:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rjdyck

I am trying to decide if if I have a bad obi110. This is a new unit. I have some experience with a SPA3000 so this really is not very new for me. I want to be able to call in on an SP and get PSTN dialtone.
This works - SP1->AA->LI
This works Phone->LI
This doesn't work - Sp1->LI
No fancy digit maps. The SP1 inbound route is simply LI
I am connecting to the PSTN alright. I hear a little bit of line hum for a few seconds and then a recording saying "the number you have dialed can not be completed as dialed".
I tried (<@:>):li to eliminate any digits but it didn't help.

Any suggestions?
One other unrelated thing, The Obi can not detect an offhook  on the phone line. I played with the voltage settings to no avail.

drgeoff

I'd guess that message is coming from your PSTN service provider.

Log in to the OBi's local web interface.  Click on Status, then on Call History and see what digits are being dialled on the LINE port.

Normally an InboundCallRoute would send CallerID as DTMF tones to the called terminal.  Could that be what your PSTN service provider is receiving and rejecting?

rjdyck

The call history shows no digits dialed.
SP1 inbound ringing
line1 outbound connected

A PSTN line never receives caller ID it only sends it and caller ID is sent as FSK not DTMF.