News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Can I use a standard analog phone w/o a landline with the OBI device?

Started by SBL110, March 27, 2017, 08:03:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SBL110

Hello everyone.

I'm new to this whole VoIP phone thing.  I've done a lot of reading, but, can't seem to get a definitive answer about landline replacement and the use of analog phones.  Here's my situation:

I have a standard AT&T landline, no frills, just dial tone for band "A" calling.  I also have a cell phone through Ting mobile and a Google Voice number.

I want to retire the landline and replace it with something (OBI 200?) that will allow calls over the internet.  Would I use Google Voice as the VoIP service?  I'd still like to use my analog phones inside the house. 

My internet connection (DSLv2) and my land line come in on the same wire.  I'm told by my ISP that the land line isn't necessary for the internet connection.  So the connections might look like this:

Internet --- Router --- OBI 200 (using Google Voice)
                                                     |
                                                     |
                                                66-block
                                                     |
                                                     |
     ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     |                    |                    |                    |                    |                  |
  Analog         Analog          Analog          Analog          Analog       Analog     Analog
  Phone          Phone           Phone           Phone           Phone        Phone     Phone