News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

OBI and Portable Phones?

Started by DavidW, August 26, 2011, 10:05:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DavidW

Hello. I am still quite new to this. I have a new model 110 using GV. Initially, I set it up with a standard, hard-wired phone. It seems to work fine in that configuration with very acceptable sound, few drop-outs, and little static/scratchiness.

Ideally, however, I would like to use a portable phone on the OBI. I have a 900Mhz unit that works great when plugged into the POTS jack. I have tried it a couple times with the OBI and am not very happy with the results. Call quality really seems to suffer for some reason. Many more drop-outs. Significantly less clear with more static and scratchiness. The first time I tried this, I had the phone base station, the OBI, and the wireless router basically all quite close to each other (within 1 foot). I guessed that the issue might be due to RF interference with all the devices in the same locale. So I moved the phone's base station about 3.5-4 feet away from the router and OBI and tried again. Despite my hypothesis, this did not make much, if any, difference.

So is the OBI just not going to work well with a portable phone? Do I need more distance? If so, how far? Thanks for your tips.

MB..

It works OK on my portable phone (Panasonic - Dect 6.0 - 1.9GHz).

Could be some interaction with the automatic gain control on the phone rather than an RF interference issue.

Might also be worth checking you are running the latest firmware.

Hopefully somebody who knows the Obi better than me can comment on any possible tweaks for the PHONE port.

LeftRight