News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

OBi110 basics - walk before I run

Started by GaryA, December 20, 2011, 05:25:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GaryA

I'm seriously considering an Obi110 but I'm very new to VoIP and telephony in general...
- Long term goal is to get rid of the expensive landline. After I purhcase the Obi110 how can I test the success of it, together with VoIP providers, as a standalone system? I'm thinking about keeping the landline for the family to use while I test out the OB.

- I'm guessing: get a GV number and configure it for calling out. Set up a VoIP provider (e.g. CallCentric "Try before you buy") and configure it for receiving calls (have CC assign a new phone #).

Questions:
1. Do I attach a standalone phone directly into the PHONE port of the OB (not at all connected to the landline), thus giving me a fully functional system independent of the landline to make outbound calls and receive inbound calls?

2. To test this independent system for receiving inbound calls, must I inform friends to call the # assigned by CC?

3. If question #2 is correct and I take out a GV #, in what way is that GV # used in the mix? Friends certainly would not call it because it is only configured for outbound calls on the OB, correct?

4. When the expensive landline is gone and I want 411 capability, I read where CallCentric can provide that for a nominal charge per month. But if GV is configured for outbound and CC is configured for receiving calls on the OB, how can I achieve the 411 capability (because 411 is technically an outbound function)?

5. I've read where GV and independent providers (e.g. CallCentric and voip.ms) are used in combination for OB. If GV is free, why can't GV be used for both outbound calls and receiving calls? Is GV not as reliable as the other providers, for inbound calls, for example?

Thanks.

Stewart