News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

IP phone endpoint

Started by david@kirk.net, November 23, 2011, 06:08:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

david@kirk.net

I would really appreciate the ability to add ip phones to my Obi as endpoints, just like my Android, iPhone or PC.  I would really like to have a few ip phones scattered around the house and easily configured with Obi. I've read the few forum messages about adding an ip phone but it's not easy to follow nor does it appear to be officially sanctioned.  Maybe just an official "howto" document would suffice with some firmware tweaks?

TimDan

Quote from: david@kirk.net on November 23, 2011, 06:08:40 PM
I would really appreciate the ability to add ip phones to my Obi as endpoints...

As a newbie, I can't see the advantage in using IP phones instead of analog phones.  Would they provide more functionality, convenience, lower price, or what?

TimDan

RonR

Quote from: TimDan on January 12, 2012, 10:24:17 AM
As a newbie, I can't see the advantage in using IP phones instead of analog phones.  Would they provide more functionality, convenience, lower price, or what?

Connecting an IP phone or analog phone + ATA to an OBi is a means of overcoming the limitation of the OBi only supporting one single-line telephone.  I have an analog telephone connected to the OBi PHONE Port and an analog telephone connected to a PAP2 ATA which is configured with the OBi.  Both can initiate and receive calls independently using the OBi's resources.

Ostracus

Quote from: david@kirk.net on November 23, 2011, 06:08:40 PM
I would really appreciate the ability to add ip phones to my Obi as endpoints...

TimDan