News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

obi/google out, att in

Started by gworona, May 12, 2011, 06:04:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gworona

I think this kind of setup will work just fine, but being a newbie, I just wanted to make sure.

Originally, I wanted to eliminate the monthly charge to ATT for my land line by porting my number to tracfone and then to google voice and use the google voice/google chat/obi110 solution documented in this forum.  After porting my number to tracfone, I find that google will not port it from tracfone to google voice.  So if I go back to ATT but get a cheap, "no long distance" plan, can I configure/connect the obi such that:

1. when I call out can I just dial the number and it will go through google (no long distance charges, no special dialing sequences)
2. when someone calls my long-held home phone number, my home phone will ring just like before
3. 911 will call the local 911 dispatch center

M105

Yep, that is the default setup on an Obi110.  Just set up Google Voice on SP1, plug your phone into the phone port and plug your landline into the line port.  The landline will ring through to your phone and 911 will go out over the landline.  All calls will by default be placed via Google Voice.

ProfTech

That is not entirely correct. What you are wanting the system to do is 100% possible and not very difficult to set up. However, the default setting in the Obi 110 is to send anything you dial to Ma Bell unless you press **some number first. You would need to massage the outbound map a little bit and possibly [would have to look at it] the phone port digit map as well in order to make any dialing go to Google. Not sure if Obitalk could do it for you or not.

RonR

Quote from: ProfTech on May 12, 2011, 01:22:03 PM