News:

On Tuesday September 6th the forum will be down for maintenance from 9:30 PM to 11:59 PM PDT

Main Menu

Simple, Non Technical, VoIP Adaptor

Started by bsdaiwa, April 07, 2012, 06:15:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bsdaiwa

I have been using SIP based calling for the last 14 years. I discovered it when I was exploring VOIP for my business. I wanted my wife to be able to communicate with her family in Argentina and SIP offered me the ideal way to achieve that.
I started and stayed with SipPhone because they provided a device that was easy to setup and could be combined with the local PSTN line so we only needed to install one phone system in each location. They used a device made by Leadtek they named the Call-In-One but was labeled by the manufacture as a 8051S. The specification sheet said:
"IP/PSTN Dual Access:
Incoming and outgoing calls from both
IP and PSTN networks using one POTS
phone"
Since Google took over SipPhone, the devices are no longer available, so I have turned to the OBi110 but it is very technical and requires many settings. Is there anyway that you can produce a simple device similar to the Leadtek BVA8051S so that those of us that are not technically oriented can use it? In other words, can you dumb down the OBi110? The key for me is the ability to use only one phone for but SIP and PSTN.
I would be more than happy to send you PDF's of all of the setup pages so you could see how simple it was.

pc44

Hi bsdaiwa,

I'm curious to see the setup PDF.  Can you post it on here?

Also, have you tried using the Obitalk Portal?  Several people find it much easier and simpler to use when installing their Obi product.

Happy Easter all,
pc44

bsdaiwa

Quote from: pc44 on April 07, 2012, 11:06:53 AM
Hi bsdaiwa,

I'm curious to see the setup PDF.  Can you post it on here?

Also, have you tried using the Obitalk Portal?  Several people find it much easier and simpler to use when installing their Obi product.

Happy Easter all,
pc44